High School Sports

Southlake Carroll running back, Haltom coach win 2018 Landry Awards

The McDaniel family at The Hope Center in Plano for the 2018 Landry Award. Carroll’s TJ McDaniel was named Player of the Year.
The McDaniel family at The Hope Center in Plano for the 2018 Landry Award. Carroll’s TJ McDaniel was named Player of the Year. bgosset@star-telegram.com

Southlake Carroll running back TJ McDaniel won the 9th annual Landry Award, which recognizes the top North Texas high school football player who demonstrates positive character and leadership attributes, on Monday night at the Hope Center.

McDaniel beat out Enoch Jackson (Mansfield Legacy, Arkansas commit), Brian Williams (Bishop Dunne, Texas A&M), Theo Wease (Allen, Oklahoma) and Jahari Rogers (Arlington).

“It’s an honor to be selected under coach Tom Landry’s name and to be a representation of his character,” McDaniel said.

The 3-star prospect, who’s committed to SMU, finished the season with career-highs 272 carries, 2,062 yards, 33 touchdowns and 10 games with at least 100 yards rushing.

McDaniel rushed for 1,862 yards and 23 TDs last season.

Carroll went 13-1 in Riley Dodge’s return to his alma mater. The Dragons lost to Duncanville, 51-7, on Saturday.

“TJ’s leadership and what he’s done for the program the last two years is invaluable, and he’s a servant leader and does it every day,” said Dodge, who was hired earlier this year.

Aledo’s Johnathan Gray won the first two awards in 2010 and 2011, followed by Jake Oliver (Jesuit), Myles Garrett (Arlington Martin), Kyler Murray (Allen), Jett Duffey (Mansfield Lake Ridge), Kennedy Brooks (Mansfield) and John Stephen Jones (Highland Park).

Garrett was the No. 1 overall draft pick of the Cleveland Browns in 2017. Murray, the Oklahoma quarterback who was selected by the Oakland Athletics at No. 9 overall in the MLB Draft, won the 2018 Heisman Award on Saturday.

Brooks is a redshirt freshman at OU while Duffey is at Texas Tech. Jones is with Arkansas.

“This award means everything,” McDaniel said. “My brother was here the first year and unfortunately lost so hopefully it’s a back up for him and it’s winning for both us.”

Rogers was the only junior nominated. The Colts had their best season in 30 years and finished 11-1. Rogers, who was named District 4-6A MVP, accounted for 3,200 yards and 45 TDs.

“It’s really an honor to be picked with all the great juniors and seniors in the area,” he said. “I’m very blessed to be the only junior nominated and it’s a great accomplishment. I have one more year so I’m trying to up here again and win it.”

Wease is a 5-star wide receiver and the only nominee still in the playoffs. He’s ranked as the No. 3 WR in the country and No. 3 overall prospect in the state. No. 1 Allen (14-0) will play No. 5 Duncanville (13-0) in the Class 6A Division I semifinals at 4 p.m. on Saturday at AT&T Stadium.

Williams is ranked as the No. 1 safety in the country. He helped Bishop Dunne to the TAPPS Division I state title on Saturday.

Jackson is one of the top defensive tackles after recording over 75 tackles, 25 for loss and 10 sacks the past two seasons.

Five-star Oklahoma commit Theo Wease talks Allen win over Waco Midway.

Haltom head coach Jason Tucker was awarded Coach of the Year. He was a nominee for the second straight season.

Other coaches nominated Monday night were Scott Peach (Arlington), Chad Cole (Frisco Reedy), Kody Groves (Mesquite Poteet) and Todd Rodgers (Argyle).

“It was a really neat feeling and a lot of things come rushing to your head when you win an award like that,” Tucker said. “Main one was the good coaches we were able to hire with the help from the school district; without those guys, we wouldn’t have had the success we had and the award wouldn’t have been presented to me without the staff we’ve able to assemble at Haltom.”

The Buffalos had their best season in program history following a trip to the state quarterfinals for the first time. Haltom lost to Amarillo Tascosa, 48-27, but finished 13-1, which set a record for most wins in a single season.

Haltom Head Coach Jason Tucker addresses his team after their 41-30 Class 6A Division II regional-round win over Hebron at Apogee Stadium in Denton. Dec. 1, 2018."

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram