High School Sports

TSWA softball all-state teams feature DFW talent

Forney pitcher Savanna DesRochers
Forney pitcher Savanna DesRochers Courtesy


First team

SP: Saleen Donohoe, Duncanville

OF: Bella Dayton, Wylie

Second team

SS: Rylen Wiggins, Wylie

Third team

C: Alexis Perry, Wylie

Honorable Mention

SP: Nora Rodriguez, Coppell; Audrey McNeil, Plano

C: Carsen Franco, Irving Nimitz; Gaby Garcia, Southlake Carroll; Rubi Diaz, Duncanville

gaby garcia
Junior catcher Gaby Garcia has been one of the few Lady Dragons who hasn’t had to change position this season. Stephen English senglish@star-telegram.com

2B: Sydney Ingle, Coppell

3B: Lindsay Edwards, Plano

OF: Kaitlyn O’Quinn, Coppell; Emily Knight, Plano; Riley Carter, Southlake Carroll

UTL: Kalei Christensen, McKinney


First team

Player of the Year: Savanna DesRochers, Forney

forney sball.jpg
Forney sophomore Savanna DesRochers points to the sky for teammate Emily Galiano after hitting a home run during a recent softball game in 2018. Charlton Gladden Courtesy

Coach of the Year: Pat Eitel, Forney

SP: Rachel Eckrote, Prosper

1B: Abby Buettner, Denton Ryan

2B: Trinity Cannon, Forney

trinity cannon.jpg
Forney second baseman Trinity Cannon Charlton Gladden Courtesy

SS: Jayda Coleman, The Colony

3B: Jourdan Jacobs, Arlington Heights

OF: Melinda Martinez, Arlington Heights; Caroline Tedder, Forney

Second team

SP: Brianna Leeds, Denton Ryan

3B: Madison Hirsch, The Colony

OF: Gracie Morton, Burleson Centennial; Zariya Stiner, The Colony; Maddie McGovern, Burleson

Gracie Morton batted .607 with 42 RBIs this past season for Burleson Centennial. Courtesy Gracie Morton

Third team

SP: Jalee McDonald, Arlington Heights; Julie Kennedy, Boswell

C: Karis Hessert, Royse City

SS: Caleigh Cross, Forney

OF: Peyton Robinson, Boswell

Honorable Mention

SP: Jessica Bridges, Sherman; Brailey Wasik, Burleson; Sophie Hannabas, Mansfield Legacy

Sophie Hannabas and the Legacy softball team are into the playoffs after winning the district championship. Stephen English senglish@star-telegram.com

C: Mayce Allen, Frisco Independence; Jacee Hamlin, The Colony

2B: Avery Colclaser, Prosper

SS: Reagan Ellison, Burleson Centennial; Ashleigh Sgambelluri, Arlington Heights

3B: Vanessa Hollingsworth, Forney; Kate Tovar, Mansfield Lake Ridge

OF: Mattie Atkins, Royse City

UTL: Brianna Evans, Red Oak

The softball team at FW Arlington Heights knocked off Boswell 4-3 in eight innings during Game 3 to clinch a spot in the regional quarterfinals for the first time since 1999.


First team

C: Ashlyn Taylor, Caddo Mills

UTL: Maddie Goin, Krum

Second team

C: Elaina Garcia, Springtown

Third team

3B: Audrey Solomon, Melissa

OF: Shelby Jones, Bonham

Honorable Mention

SP: Kaylee Davis, Venus; Alexis Pevehouse, Melissa; Mackenzie Downs, Bonham; Lilli Cook, Caddo Mills

C: Morgan Sebastian, Krum

2B: Taylor Levan, Mineral Wells; Josie Jenkins, Caddo Mills

OF: Tana Reeves, Godley

UTL: Hannah Howell, Anna


First team

SP: Christine Billmeier, Pilot Point

1B: Bailey Wagner, Brock

Brock senior first baseman Bailey Wagner hit a double, home run and drove in five runs as the Eagles swept Alpine in the 3A Region I semifinals. Holly Wagner Courtesy

Second team

SP: Mattye Tyler, Brock

C: Katie Roberts, Grandview

OF: Alexis Galvan, Grandview

Third team

3B: Allie Prewitt, Grandview

OF: Alicia Hamm, Tolar

Honorable Mention

SP: Brooke Blackwell, Grandview; Cassidi Doyle, Sunnyvale; Kendall Candioto, Paradise

C: Anarenee Beyer, Brock; Haley Vike, Sunnyvale

1B: Faith Carter, Sunnyvale

2B: Jessica Leek, Brock; Eryn Adrian, Sunnyvale

SS: Brooke Prewitt, Grandview; Kyleigh Clements, Whitewright

OF: Landry Felts, Brock

brock sb.jpg
Brock junior Landry Felts Holly Wagner Courtesy

Brock junior Landry Felts hit two grand slams in the first inning against Cisco on March 30. She drove in eight runs as Brock won 15-0. Video credit Danielle Felts.


First team

Coach of the Year: Kristina Stephens, Bells

SS: Ellie Bailey, Tom Bean

OF: Bella Smith, Bells

Second team

SP: Cheyenne Floyd, Bells

2B: Taylor Williams, Tom Bean

Third team

SS: Karsyn Taylor, Lindsay

Honorable Mention

C: Ashley Sloan, Bells

2B: Cheznie Hale, Bells

SS: Habby Smith, Bells

OF: Shelby Mason, Tom Bean

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram