Dallas Cowboys

Dak Prescott nominated for NFL’s most prestigious humanitarian honor

Players To Watch: Cowboys vs. Eagles

Clarence Hill gives you five players to watch as the Cowboys take on their NFC rival, the Philadelphia Eagles.
Up Next
Clarence Hill gives you five players to watch as the Cowboys take on their NFC rival, the Philadelphia Eagles.

Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott is the team’s 2018 nominee for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award, one of the league’s most prestigious honors.

It recognizes a player’s outstanding community service activities off the field. All 32 teams have a nominee. Former Cowboys’ tight end Jason Witten won the award in 2013. Former Cowboys’ quarterbacks Troy Aikman (1997) and Roger Staubach (1978) are also former winners.

“I’m humbled, to say the least, just to be a nominee and representing the Dallas Cowboys,” Prescott said, who is in his third year in the league. “It goes back to my mom. Honestly, that’s what I think of and her saying allow me to be your story. It motivates me and inspires me to do things off the field to stick my hand out and help others. I think this is a testament to that.”

Prescott does extensive work helping raise awareness of cancer issues and support people and communities experience adversity with his Faith Fight Finish Foundation, which focuses on fighting cancer and “offering assistance to those facing life-challenging hardships,” according to a press release. He also works with StandUp2Cancer to raise money and awareness for colon cancer and supports research with his SU2C-Peggy Prescott Fellowship for Colorectal Cancer Research Early Career Investigator Award, which honors a rising star in the medical field “whose research will produce cutting -edge and innovative science in the field.”

The fellowship and his foundation honor his late mother.

“I started my foundation in memory of my mother and to honor a promise I made to her to make a positive impact on the world,” Prescott said. “Being recognized for the work I am doing in the community means that I am living up to the promise I made her. I want to work even harder now to make a difference in the lives of those that are facing adversity. This award is for both of us.”

Prescott is also actively involved in other charitable endeavors, including Matthew McConaughey’s “just keep livin” Foundation, which implements after-school programs in inner-city schools.

Prescott and the 31 other nominees will wear decals on their helmets through the end of the season in recognition of their accomplishments on and off the field. All 32 team winners will be highlighted as finalists and recognized for their important work during the weekend leading up to Super Bowl LIII.

The winner will be announced on Feb. 2 during a two-hour NFL Honors prime time awards special on KTVT/Ch. 11.

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram