High School Football

Mansfield football teams are almost sure to clean up at these awards

Mansfield Legacy running back Grant Johnson (22) is helped off the field by head coach Chris Melson and Isaiah Jones (L) after scoring a touchdown in December. He and Melson are up for awards from the 1st Down Club.
Mansfield Legacy running back Grant Johnson (22) is helped off the field by head coach Chris Melson and Isaiah Jones (L) after scoring a touchdown in December. He and Melson are up for awards from the 1st Down Club. Special to the Star-Telegram

There will be a definite Mansfield high school football atmosphere Thursday at the sixth annual 1st Down Club of Dallas-Fort Worth Awards.

Not only is the event being held at the Mansfield ISD Center for the Performing Arts, with a 7 p.m. start, seven players and one coach will be up for honors at the prestigious event.

The awards recognize the top football players, both athletically and academically, from the Dallas-Fort Worth area, south to Waco and north to Wichita Falls. They honor players with scholarships for a high level of play on the field, success in the classroom and positive community involvement.

Named as defensive semifinalists from the MISD are:

▪  Senior outside linebacker/strong safety Dreylan Hines, Summit

▪  Senior safety Cam Jones, Mansfield

▪  Senior outside linebacker Trelynn Wormley, Legacy

Named as offensive semifinalists are:

▪  Senior running back/linebacker Grant Johnson, Legacy

▪  Senior running back Jalen Knox, Timberview

Two MISD players are up for the scholar athlete award. They are senior outside linebacker/tight end Jarrett Skaggs of Mansfield and senior center Jacob Stacks of Legacy.

Also, Legacy coach Chris Melson is among the semifinalists for Coach of the Year.

“We are very excited for the players selected to the 1st Down Club banquet as finalist for player of the year,” said Mansfield Athletic Director Philip O’Neal.

“I am also thrilled coach Chris Melson of Legacy was selected. His team performed to their best under his leadership and he is well-deserving of any accolades received.”

Melson led the Broncos to the Class 5A Division II state semifinals, finishing with a 12-3 record. They were eliminated in a 28-21 loss to Aledo, a game they led 21-7.

Hines helped Summit (8-5) advance to the third round of the playoffs in Class 5A Division I. Jones and Skaggs helped Mansfield (11-2) reach the third round of the 6A Division I playoffs.

“I am very proud of the work and performance of the football athletes in Mansfield, and each of those selected as a semifinalist will be representing not only their school and their coaches but their teammates as well,” O’Neal said.

Mansfield has been well-represented in the awards’ first five years, including Chad Whitener of Mansfield being named the 2012 Defensive MVP and Jett Duffey of Lake Ridge being selected the 2015 Offensive MVP. Whitener went on to Oklahoma State and Duffey to Texas Tech.

Also from the area, Kennedale’s Juwan Washington was named the 2014 Offensive MVP, going on to San Diego State University. Arlington Martin’s Myles Garrett, who went on to Texas A&M and was a first-round draft pick of the Cleveland Browns in 2017, was a 2013 Notable Finalist.

Selection committee members from the area included James Brown of Timberview, Channon Hall of Summit, Bob Wager of Arlington Martin, and the late former Arlington Lamar coach Eddy Peach.

Other player nominees include Gage Campbell, Argyle; Tkai Lloyd, Allen; Brock Sturges, Allen; Jaxon Player, Waco Midway; Bumper Pool, Lovejoy; Ryan Thompson, Southlake Carroll; James Williams, Aledo; Alan Bowman, Grapevine; Tucker Horn, Graham; John Stephen Jones, Dallas Highland Park; Matthew Leehan, Southlake Carroll; Brady McBride, Coppell; Tanner Mordecai, Waco Midway; Spencer Sanders, Denton Ryan; Spencer Trussell, Arlington Martin; and D’Montae Davis, Arlington.

Additional academic nominees include Jackson Anderson, Colleyville Heritage; Chase Bell, Fort Worth Paschal; Jacob Doddridge, Southlake Carroll; Lane Ferguson, Saginaw; Grayson Jarvis, Aledo; Esteban Larranaga, Euless Trinity; Cale Nanny, Argyle; and R. Mason Ward, Keller.

Also up for Coach of the Year are John Abendschan, Boswell; Brady Carner, Muenster; Kenny Davidson, Graham; Chris Jensen, Euless Trinity; Jeff Miller, Rockdale; and Greg Winder, Stephenville.