Reigning champ Justin Rose, Rickie Fowler highlight Charles Schwab Challenge commits

Reigning champion Justin Rose and golf star Rickie Fowler highlight the commitments for this year’s Charles Schwab Challenge at Colonial Country Club.

Rose and Fowler are among 86 of the 120 players committed to Fort Worth’s annual PGA Tour stop, and two of the highest ranked.

Rose is No. 2 in the world, and Fowler is No. 10. Rose has made the cut in his five career Colonial appearances, winning last year’s event after an eight-year hiatus, and Fowler has made the cut in five of his six starts.

Colonial has two more commitments in the Top 10, including Justin Thomas (No. 5) and Xander Schauffele (No. 9). Thomas is making his Colonial debut.

The tournament is scheduled later this month with tournament rounds May 23-26. Players will compete for a $7.3 million purse, and tickets are on sale through the tournament’s website or at local Tom Thumb and Albertsons stores.

Jon Rahm, a two-time Ben Hogan Award winner who is now the No. 11 player in the world, has finished T2 and T5 in his two appearances at the event and is back. So is Paul Casey, the No. 13 player in the world who has two top 10 finishes in five starts at Colonial.

Other top-ranked players include major champion Louis Oosthuizen (21st in the world), 2017 Colonial champion Kevin Kisner (25), and 2016 winner and North Texas star Jordan Spieth (36).

England’s Matthew Fitzpatrick (32), the 2013 U.S. Amateur champion, Sweden’s Alex Noren (33) and England’s Tyrrell Hatton (37) are in the field, along with Billy Horschel (41), a five-time PGA Tour winner.

The field also has a nice mix of veterans such as Jim Furyk, last year’s Ryder Cup captain and the 2003 U.S. Open champion, Kenny Perry, a two-time Colonial champion, and David Toms, the 2011 Colonial winner.

Champions’ choices

The Colonial announced its champions’ choices on Wednesday, and selected sons of Hall of Famers.

Tucker Wadkins, son of 1988 Colonial champion (and 1977 PGA Championship winner) Lanny, has been given an invite.

So has Dru Love, son of Davis Love III, the 1997 PGA Championship champion. Love III made his Colonial debut as a champions’ choice in 1986, and won his first PGA Tour event a year later.

The tournament’s past champions have annually selected two “young players who are trying to establish themselves as career professionals.”

Previous recipients of this honor include major champions such as Paul Azinger, Mark O’Meara, Curtis Strange, Stewart Cink and Jordan Spieth.

Commitment list

Here is the full list of the 86 players committed. The final field will be 120 players, and commitments aren’t official until 5 p.m. on May 18.

Byeong-Hun An; Abraham Ancer; Kiradech Aphibarnrat; Ryan Armour; Aaron Baddeley; Bronson Burgoon; Paul Casey; Cameron Champ; Stewart Cink; Keith Clearwater; Corey Conners; Austin Cook; Ben Crane; Joel Dahmen; Jason Dufner; Matthew Fitzpatrick; Jim Furyk; Brice Garnett; Brian Gay; Doug Ghim; Lucas Glover; Talor Gooch; Emiliano Grillo; Bill Haas; Chesson Hadley; Tyrrell Hatton; J. J. Henry; Tim Herron; Charley Hoffman; Billy Horschel; Beau Hossler; Sungjae Im; Zach Johnson; Si Woo Kim; Whee Kim; Michael Kim; Chris Kirk; Kevin Kisner; Colt Knost; Jason Kokrak; Anirban Lahiri; Andrew Landry; Danny Lee; Adam Long; Dru Love; Graeme McDowell; Troy Merritt; Ryan Moore; Kevin Na; Alex Noren; Louis Oosthuizen; Ryan Palmer; Rod Pampling; C.T. Pan; Pat Perez; Kenny Perry; Scott Piercy; Tom Purtzer; Andrew Putnam; Jon Rahm; Chez Reavie; Justin Rose; Sam Ryder; Rory Sabbatini; Xander Schauffele; Charl Schwartzel; Ben Silverman; Brandt Snedeker; J.J. Spaun; Jordan Spieth; Scott Stallings; Kevin Streelman; Steve Stricker; Brian Stuard; Justin Thomas; Michael Thompson; David Toms; Martin Trainer; Kevin Tway; Peter Uihlein; Tyrone Van Aswegen; Harold Varner III; Tucker Wadkins; Jimmy Walker; Boo Weekley; Mike Weir.

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram