Boys Basketball

High School Boys Basketball Teams and Players to Watch

Mansfield Timberview rallies to win 5A boys basketball title

The Wolves trailed Fort Bend Marshall 27-17 at halftime, but staged a dazzling comeback by making 69.2 percent of their second-half field goals -- 18 of 26.
Up Next
The Wolves trailed Fort Bend Marshall 27-17 at halftime, but staged a dazzling comeback by making 69.2 percent of their second-half field goals -- 18 of 26.

November 10: First day for interschool games

February 17: District certification deadline

February 19-20: Bi-district

February 22-24: Area

February 26-27: Regional quarterfinals

March 2-3: Regional playoff deadline

March 8-10: State Tournament

2016-17 SUPER TEAM



Mansfield Timberview (State Champs): Two of the big three are back in Chris Mullins (state MVP) and Isaac Likekele, who combined to average 31 points, 15 rebounds and 9.5 assists per game.

Brock (State Runner Up): Last year’s trip to the state finals was the eighth in program history, fourth in the past six years.

Justin Northwest (State Semifinals): The Texans enter as the top team in Class 5A after their run to state. Four starters are back including top prospect Avery Anderson. Also get two transfers in power forwards Mason Hix and Sammie Freeman.

Keller (State Semifinals): The Indians will have trouble replacing Star-Telegram MVP RJ Nembhard, now at TCU, but they still have a top 3-point shooter in Carson Hughes, who signed to Dallas Baptist this week.

Midlothian Heritage (State Semifinals): The Jaguars went to state last year. Kerrion Fields returns being one of their key players and they add transfer Vincent Lee, whose signed to Nevada - coming over from Midlothian.

Arlington Bowie (Regional Finals): District 4-6A Offensive MVP Kyler Edwards, an all area MVP favorite this season, moved to Nevada for his senior year. Can the Vols get back to the regional tournament without him?

Waxahachie (Regional Finals): The Indians were one win away from state. They enter the season ranked No. 2 in Class 5A.

Eastern Hills (Regional Semifinals): Only two players return from last year’s regional tournament team, a first in program history. Highlanders also won the District 8-5A title.

North Crowley (Regional Quarterfinals): The Panthers are one of the more consistent programs in the Metroplex in the past two decades with 18 playoff trips in that span. Coach Tommy Brakel enters year No. 20.

Birdville (Regional Quarterfinals): For the first time, the Hawks are state ranked, coming in at No. 15 in Class 5A. They’ll have to replace 8-5A MVP Jalen Adams, who graduated, but 3-point shooter Noah Wheeless should have a bigger role.

Kennedale (Regional Quarterfinals): A Class 4A regular, the No. 15 Wildcats have reached the regional quarterfinals eight times in the past 11 years.

Arlington Martin (Area): The Warriors have been a threat in District 4-6A the past few years under coach Clint Schnell.

Wyatt (Bi-District): The Chaparrals are ranked No. 14 in the state and expect them to be this year’s Eastern Hills or Dunbar.



F Jakeem Acres, Sr., Haltom

G Kaden Archie, Sr., Midlothian

G Zach Baucum, Sr., Eaton

C Mason Farley, Sr., Joshua

G Kaleb Favors, Sr., Trimble Tech

F Colby Feris, Sr., Birdville

G Kerrion Fields, Sr., Midlothian Heritage

G Trevonne Fuller, Sr., Legacy

G Nick Gardner, Sr., Martin

G Kenneth Harris, Sr., Brewer

F Mason Hix, Sr., Northwest

F Byron Hobbs, Sr., Eastern Hills

G Amery Hughes, Sr., Brock

F Carson Hughes, Sr., Keller

G Jaylen Johnson, Sr., Burleson

F Jordan Keyes, Sr., Northwest

G Vincent Lee, Sr., Midlothian Heritage

F Garrett Leek, Sr., Brock

G Isaac Likekele, Sr., Timberview

F Keylan McNeil, Sr., Fossil Ridge

G Jimmy Mouser, Sr., Timber Creek

G Chris Mullins, Sr., Timberview

C David Nzekwesi, Sr., Byron Nelson

G Jordan Phillips, Sr., Grace Prep

G Isaiah Pittman, Sr., Martin

F Kenneth Reeves, Sr., Richland

G Draylon Roberson, Sr., YMLA

G Tariq Roberts, Sr., Trimble Tech

F Peyton Sallee, Sr., Chisholm Trail

C Sir Marc Sanders, Sr., YMLA

G Josiah Sneed, Sr., Burleson

C Traylynn Spencer, Sr., Wyatt

F Daylon Tanksley, Sr., Wyatt

C Mike Underwood, Sr., Southwest

F David Valmore, Sr., Timber Creek

G Addison Wallace, Sr., Cleburne

G Courtland Walton, Sr., Eastern Hills

G Uniikye Washington, Sr., Kennedale

G Noah Wheeless, Sr., Birdville

G Larry Wise, Sr., Waxahachie

F Michael Yenga, Sr., Haltom


G Avery Anderson, Jr., Northwest

F Jacory Ashley, Jr., Richland

G Niko Bossinakis, Jr., Colleyville Heritage

F Cortland Blake, Jr., Brewer

G Albert Davis, Jr., Seguin

G Tre Jones, Jr., Kennedale

G Jeremiah Keys, Jr., Dunbar

G Jonathan McGhee, Jr., Polytechnic

F Jonathan Morgan, Jr., Western Hills

G Grant Sherfield, Jr., North Crowley

G Jahmius Ramsey, Jr., Summit

F Rashee Rice, Jr., Richland

G Andrew Wzyzykowski, Jr., Southwest


G Hayden Brittingham, Soph., Crowley

F Cade Cunningham, Soph., Bowie

G Latrell Jossell, Soph., Central

G Julien Smith, Soph., Northwest


Damon Gentry, Fr., Wyatt

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram