High School Sports

TCU, SMU, Baylor and 74 high school athletes to be honored by NFF Girdiron Club

The National Football Foundation (NFF) Gridiron Club of Dallas Chapter announced on Monday the names of the eight Texas collegiate scholar-athletes and the 74 North Texas high school scholar-athletes who will be honored for their accomplishments during the chapter’s 11th Annual Awards Banquet at 6 p.m. on Sunday at the Dallas/Addison Marriott Quorum by the Galleria.

Scholarships will be awarded and one high school player will be named the club’s top scholar-athlete.

”We are incredibly proud of this year’s scholar-athletes,” said Gerald Brence, president of the NFF Gridiron Club of Dallas Chapter and the athletics director for the Plano Independent School District, in a press release. “We are honoring another great group of high school scholar-athletes who continue to impress, not only on the field competitively but also as scholars and young community leaders.”

The selection committee, comprised of coaches, teachers, administrators and business leaders from North Texas, evaluated the college and high school candidates based on their athletic accomplishments, academic performance and leadership in the community.

2019 NFF Gridiron Club of Dallas Collegiate Scholar-Athletes

2019 NFF Gridiron Club of Dallas High School Scholar-Athletes

  • Chris Adkins - Dallas White
  • Ruri Aguilar - S&S Consolidated
  • Ben Altizer - McKinney Boyd
  • Kobie Anderson - Wilmer-Hutchins
  • Michael Balis - Plano West
  • Jacob Barbosa - Carrollton Newman Smith
  • James Barrett - Eaton
  • Kyree Barron - Dallas Madison
  • Sebastian Blunt - Dallas Carter
  • Evan Bogoslavsky - Plano Senior
  • Hunter Broughton - Lucas Lovejoy
  • Dylan Brown - Mesquite Poteet
  • Lance Canyon - Rowlett
  • Larry Cooper - Mesquite Horn
  • Chase Cotton - Plano East
  • Roger Davis-Jahnel - Garland Naaman Forest
  • Ty DeArman - Arlington Bowie
  • Brian DeClercq - Arlington
  • Hector Diaz - Dallas Jefferson
  • Cadarius Dewade Doss - Dallas Spruce
  • Braxton Edrington - Frisco Legacy Christian
  • Layton Ernst - Mansfield
  • Christian Evans - Dallas Hillcrest
  • Jakorian Flentroy-Sanders - Dallas Conrad
  • Jaylen Freeman - Dallas Adamson
  • Exavier Galloway - Dallas Samuell
  • Francisco Garcia - Dallas North Dallas
  • Ezra Gore - McKinney North
  • Camron Gray - Carrollton Creekview
  • Tyler Hanes - Mansfield Summit
  • Quinterrius Hargrave - West Mesquite
  • Bradford Holley - Richardson J.J. Pearce
  • Dawson Holley - Hurst Bell
  • Paw Htoo - Dallas South Oak Cliff
  • Duane Johnson - Midlothian
  • Jordan Johnson - Dallas Seagoville
  • Kaleb King - Mansfield Legacy
  • Andrew Kopenec - Birdville
  • Kody Krause - Granbury
  • Landon Ledbetter - Midlothian Heritage
  • Emmanuel Longinos - Dallas Molina
  • Jonathan McGill - Coppell
  • George Mercer - Richardson
  • Shawn Morris - Richardson Berkner
  • Dorian Mundy - Dallas Skyline
  • Cooper Newsom - Episcopal School of Dallas
  • Brenden O’Brien - Allen
  • Maurice Okello - Arlington Seguin
  • Jose Olide - Dallas Sunset
  • Matthew O’Reilly - Prestonwood Christian
  • Victor Parker - Dallas Roosevelt
  • Sean Payne - Keller
  • Chase Petter - Argyle
  • Zachary Reinert - Aledo
  • Sedrick Richardson - North Mesquite
  • Ryan Riddle - Denison
  • Mariano Robles IV - Dallas Kimball
  • Brian Rodriguez - Carrollton Turner
  • Chandler Rogers - Mansfield Lake Ridge
  • Gabe Sanchez - Mansfield Timberview
  • Carson Shaffer - Prosper
  • Sam Sloan - Highland Park
  • Jack Spangler - Covenant School of Dallas
  • Trey Taylor - Frisco Lone Star
  • Jaylen Thomas - Dallas Lincoln
  • Kelvin Thomas - McKinney
  • Bruce Tipps II - South Grand Prairie
  • Jaxon Turner - Mesquite
  • Ethan Walters - Dallas Adams
  • Adam White - Frisco Wakeland
  • Jamare Williams - Dallas Pinkston
  • Joseph “Bear” Williams - Mildred
  • Lucas Woltjen - Dallas Wilson
  • Carter Yates - Frisco

The event will also pay tribute to several outstanding individuals for their contributions to the game and the North Texas region including legendary Dallas Cowboys wide receiver Drew Pearson, legendary high school football coach G.A. Moore, the voice of UIL high school football and the Texas Longhorns Craig Way, longtime NFL, collegiate and high school official and timekeeper Jim Ely and Dave Campbell’s Texas Football managing editor and FOX Sports Southwest broadcaster Greg Tepper.

Mary Hardin-Baylor head coach Pete Fredenburg will be honored as the College Coach of the Year after leading the Cru to the 2018 NCAA Division III national title. High school coach honorees include High School Coach of the Year Reggie Samples (Duncanville) and Assistant High School Coaches of the Year Eric Mach (Hebron) and John Towels (Duncanville).

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram

Born and raised in Hawaii, Brian Gosset graduated from Northern Arizona University with a degree in journalism before coming to Texas in 2014. He’s covered high school sports — yes, pretty much every high school sport — for the Star-Telegram ever since.