Northeast Tarrant

Former Colleyville mayor Donna Arp Weitzman receives lifetime award

Volunteering is not just something you do, it’s a part of life for Donna Arp Weitzman.

“It really should be a focus just like family and God,” the former Colleyville mayor said. “I really think that helping other people in any way you can whether that be financially, with your time, effort or skills should be one of the legs of your entire personality, your entire being, your entire soul.”

The Volunteer Center of North Texas recognized Arp Weitzman, now a Dallas resident, with its 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award at its Big Hearts of Fort Worth event today.

Arp Weitzman has years of volunteer experience including sitting on more than 30 non-profit boards. The Colleyville Area Chamber of Commerce recognized her as Colleyville’s Citizen of the Year in 2001, and she was recognized with a President W. Bush National Volunteer Award in 2004. Her volunteer work spans several needs including medical, arts and social causes.

She currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Texas Ballet Theater, Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Greater North Texas and plenty more.

Tammy Richards, Volunteer Center of North Texas CEO, said the organization has awarded the Lifetime Achievement for eight years in Dallas, but this is the first year for a Fort Worth award. She said the breadth of Arp Weitzman’s accomplishments, especially in Fort Worth, made her a great choice for the honor.

“Donna's enthusiasm for volunteerism is just infectious,” Richards said. “When you look at her long history of volunteering in our community its just amazing.”

Arp Weitzman served Colleyville as a City Council member from 1997-99 and as mayor from 1999 to 2003.

She said she get her volunteering work ethic from her grand parents who were always serving others.

The Volunteer Center of North Texas aids local organizations and charities find volunteers for projects and service since its creation in 1971. The Center also recognized the Junior League of Fort Worth and the Texas Jewish Post with its Lifetime Achievement Award.