Northeast Tarrant

Colleyville, Grapevine ready for new terms

Members of the new Colleyville and Grapevine city councils are ready to get to work after votes in the May 9 election were counted and canvassed.

Colleyville Council

For the Colleyville City Council election, Place 5 and Place 6, results were announced May 19 at a brief council special meeting.

For Place 5, Nancy Coplen garnered 2,899 votes for 58 percent against Elizabeth Zeitlin, who got 2,123 votes for 42 percent.

Coplen ran on a platform that emphasized her experience in preserving “family, flavor and freedom.”

For Place 6, incumbent Mike Taylor kept his council seat by garnering 2,646 votes for 52 percent against Bobby Lindamood who got 2,472 votes for 48 percent.

Taylor’s platform was a call for “a common sense, conservative voice that listens to all sides of the issue.”

The oath of office will be given to Coplen and Taylor at the June 2 council meeting.

Grapevine Council

The Grapevine City Council’s makeup was unchanged following the election for mayor and two council seats.

Mayor Pro Tem C. Shane Wilbanks won handily for Place 1 against Marc Blum.

Longtime Mayor William D. Tate and Place 2 City Councilwoman Sharon Spencer were unopposed.

After the votes were canvassed, results were announced at the May 19 council meeting. The city secretary administered the oath of office to the three.

Official results showed that Tate received 2,018 votes, Wilbanks received 1,472 votes and Spencer got 1,906 votes. Wilbanks received 67 percent of the votes and Blum, with 741, got 33 percent.

A Grapevine resident since 1965, Wilbanks was elected to Place 1 in 1985 and appointed mayor pro tem in 2008. A Grapevine resident since 1975, Spencer was elected to Place 2 in 1985.

Tate was elected to the council in 1972 and elected mayor 1973-1985 and reelected mayor 1988-present.