Dallas Cowboys

Terrell Owens among Hall of Fame finalists, Jimmy Johnson is not

Former Cowboys receiver Terrell Owens is among the 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.
Former Cowboys receiver Terrell Owens is among the 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. AP

Receiver Terrell Owens was announced as a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2016.

Owens, who played for the Cowboys from 2006-08, is one of three first-year eligible players on the ballot. Brett Favre and Alan Faneca are the others.

Former Cowboys coach Jimmy Johnson did not make the cut to 15. He made the semifinalist list for the third consecutive year. He became a finalist for the first time last year.

Owens ranks sixth all-time in receptions (1,078), second in receiving yards (15,934) and receiving touchdowns (153). He made six Pro Bowls and five times was a first-team All-Pro, the only player in history to earn All-Pro with three different teams.

In his three seasons with the Cowboys, Owens played in 46 games, making 235 catches for 3,587 yards and 38 touchdowns.

A nominated player or coach must have been retired for five consecutive seasons to be eligible.

Seniors candidates Ken Stabler and Dick Stanfel will appear on the ballot, too, along with contributor finalist Edward DeBartolo Jr.

Selectors will select the Class of 2016 the eve of Super Bowl 50 next month.

The 2016 Modern-Era Finalists with their positions, years and teams:

▪ Morten Andersen, Kicker – 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings

▪ Steve Atwater, Safety – 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets

▪ Don Coryell, Coach – 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers

▪ Terrell Davis, Running Back – 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

▪ Tony Dungy, Coach – 1996-2001 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002-08 Indianapolis Colts

▪ Alan Faneca, Guard – 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals

▪ Brett Favre, Quarterback – 1991 Atlanta Falcons, 1992-2007 Green Bay Packers, 2008 New York Jets, 2009-2010 Minnesota Vikings

▪ Kevin Greene, Linebacker/Defensive End – 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

▪ Marvin Harrison, Wide Receiver – 1996-2008 Indianapolis Colts

▪ Joe Jacoby, Tackle – 1981-1993 Washington Redskins

▪ Edgerrin James, Running Back – 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks

▪ John Lynch, Free Safety – 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

▪ Terrell Owens, Wide Receiver – 1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati Bengals

▪ Orlando Pace, Tackle – 1997-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Chicago Bears

▪ Kurt Warner, Quarterback – 1998-2003 St. Louis Rams, 2004 New York Giants, 2005-09 Arizona Cardinals


Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram