Dallas Cowboys

Official admits timeout error, robbing the Cowboys of a TD opportunity

Cowboys head coach Jason Garrett wasn’t happy after Seattle attempted a second consecutive timeout before Dan Bailey's field-goal attempt in the second quarter.
Cowboys head coach Jason Garrett wasn’t happy after Seattle attempted a second consecutive timeout before Dan Bailey's field-goal attempt in the second quarter. Star-Telegram

Cowboys coach Jason Garrett refused to discuss the officials after 13-12 loss to the Seattle Seahawks.

But there is no question the Cowboys are unhappy about a blown call at the end of the first half, robbing them of a possible touchdown opportunity.

“That was a technicality, and that was screwed up,” owner Jerry Jones said. “…But I wouldn’t blame the game on that call or our outcome of the game on that call.”

The Seahawks called a illegal second consecutive timeout to avoid being penalized for an extra player on the field as the Cowboys were lining up for a 35-yard field goal.

Officials didn’t flag Seattle for the second timeout, which in turn prevented them from being penalized for having 12 players on the field.

“It’s double jeopardy,” referee Carl Cheffers said in a pool report. “The timeout should not have been granted. Obviously, the snap did not happen. At the time, the timeout was erroneously granted. It was not, by rule, 12 men on the field. We just made a mistake.”

If officials would have flagged Seattle for 12 men on the field, the Cowboys would have gotten a first down at the 12.

A touchdown was not a guarantee but the Cowboys were robbed of the opportunity by a blown call from the officials.

  Comments