Dallas Cowboys

Cowboys elect five captains for the 2015 season

Sean Lee was voted one of five captains for the Cowboys.
Sean Lee was voted one of five captains for the Cowboys. Star-Telegram

Sean Lee said he was “honored” to be voted one of the Cowboys’ five captains for the 2015 season.

“We have so many leaders on this team,” Lee said Friday. “But to be able to be voted a captain, it’s humbling, and it’s something I take extremely serious.”

The linebacker was joined by tight end Jason Witten, safety Barry Church, quarterback Tony Romo and kicker Dan Bailey as captains in a vote by the team Friday.

“First of all being elected captain by your teammates is one of the great honors you can have at any level, and certainly at this level, I think it starts with that – the respect that your teammates have for you to put you in that situation and think about you in that regard,” Cowboys coach Jason Garrett said. “With that privilege comes responsibility, and those guys wouldn’t have been elected captains if they weren’t ready to embrace that responsibility to be examples to their teammates. We have high standards around here how we do things, and we try to emphasize those standards to our players and instill those in our football team, and those guys have to represent and uphold those standards more than anybody else. They have to uphold them individually and they have to hold everybody accountable to those. It goes beyond just the captains. It’s the leaders of this football team. We have a leadership group. It’s hard for us to keep guys out of the leadership group. We have a lot of guys on the leadership group, and we can have more. It’s hard to draw those lines. So it goes far beyond the five guys elected captain. It goes beyond the leadership group. It’s everybody holding each other accountable to those standards. But it’s quite an honor to be named a captain of an NFL football team.”

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram