Dallas Cowboys

Dirk Nowitzki, LaDainian Tomlinson to be honored at 10th annual Emmitt Smith Gala Friday

Recently-retired Dallas Mavericks star Dirk Nowitzki and TCU Hall of Famer LaDainian Tomlinson along with their wives will be honored at the 10th Annual Emmitt Smith Celebrity Gala Friday night at the Omni Hotel in Frisco.

Jessica and Dirk Nowitzki will be presented with the Roger Staubach Award, which is given to recipients who exemplify excellence personally, professionally and philanthropically. Cowboys tight end Jason Witten was the 2018 Roger Staubach Award honoree.

LaTorsha and LaDainian Tomlinson will be given the Changemaker Award.

Robin Roberts of ABC’s Good Morning America will serve as the celebrity emcee of the gala and Marianne and Roger Staubach are the honorary chairs.

The 10th annual gala expects 750 guests and includes a celebrity red carpet, cocktail hour and reception, live auction, dinner and presentation of the Roger Staubach Award, followed by live entertainment.

It is followed on Saturday, May 4 by the Emmitt Smith Celebrity Golf Tournament at TPC Craig Ranch in McKinney.

Proceeds from the event will fund Pat & Emmitt Smith Charities, a 501c3 public charity that provides unique educational opportunities and experiences for children.

Focusing primarily in North Texas, Pat & Emmitt Smith Charities Team 22 offers a multi-year curriculum including mentorship, leadership camp, service and unique excursions where they meet with community and world leaders.

The charity also supports an annual back to school program in partnership with Dallas ISD and provides local children’s organizations support through an annual grants process and provides college scholarships.

Smith has raised over $8.2 million over the last 10 years and supported over 150 charities in North Texas
Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram

Clarence E. Hill Jr. has covered the Dallas Cowboys as a beat writer/columnist for the Fort Worth Star-Telegram since 1997. That includes just two playoff wins, six coaches and countless controversies from the demise of the dynasty teams of the 1990s through the rollercoaster years of the Tony Romo era until Jason Garrett’s process Cowboys.