The attempt went from 47 yards to 52 yards after the penalty, in which the line judge, the official standing on the sideline nearest Cowboys’ head coach Jason Garrett, threw the flag. Never mind that the umpire viewing the play from about five yards away called nothing. Maher, of course, missed the field goal and the Redskins held on for a 20-17 win.
“We did send that into the league, along with some other things, like we typically would,” Garrett said. “We’ll see what they say on those. We just want to handle it the right way and see what their thinking was on those plays.”
Garrett said Ladouceur did nothing different on the previous snaps he had in the game.
Ladouceur was dumbfounded by the call. He said he has snapped the ball the same way since 2005.
Even the Redskins’ defensive linemen immediately reacted to the flag as if they had been called for off-sides. Instead, to everyone’s surprise, Ladouceur was guilty.
Of what? The Cowboys are still not sure.