Dallas Cowboys

LaDainian Tomlinson, Darren Woodson among Hall of Fame semifinalists

Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson (21) was on the list of 26 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.
Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson (21) was on the list of 26 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Star-Telegram

LaDainian Tomlinson and three ex Cowboys are among the 26 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Jimmy Johnson, Darren Woodson and Terrell Owens also were on the list announced Wednesday night.

Johnson became a semifinalist for the fourth consecutive year and Owens for the second year in a row. Woodson has advanced this far only once previously, in 2015.

Tomlinson, a former TCU star, is a first-year eligible candidate. Other first-year eligible candidates on the semifinal list were safety Brian Dawkins, defensive end Jason Taylor and receiver Hines Ward.

Selectors reduced the ballot from an initial group of 94 and will trim it to 15 modern-era finalists in January after a mail-in vote. The Hall of Fame already has announced Cowboys owner Jerry Jones as a contributors candidate, along with former commissioner Paul Tagliabue. Kenny Easley was chosen as the seniors candidate.

To earn induction, candidates must receive an 80 percent positive vote the day before the Super Bowl, Feb. 4, in Houston.

Here is the complete list of semifinalists:

Morten Andersen, K, 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings.

Steve Atwater, S, 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets.

Tony Boselli, OT, 1995-2001 Jacksonville Jaguars, 2002 Houston Texans (injured reserve)

Isaac Bruce, WR, 1994-2007 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 2008-09 San Francisco 49ers.

Don Coryell, coach, 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers.

Roger Craig, RB, 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers.

Terrell Davis, RB, 1995-2001 Denver Broncos.

Brian Dawkins, S, 1996-2008 Philadelphia Eagles, 2009-2011 Denver Broncos.

Alan Faneca, OG, 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals.

Chris Hinton, OG/OT, 1983-89 Baltimore/Indianapolis Colts, 1990-93 Atlanta Falcons, 1994-95 Minnesota Vikings.

Torry Holt, WR, 1999-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Jacksonville Jaguars.

Joe Jacoby, OT, 1981-1993 Washington Redskins.

Edgerrin James, RB, 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks.

Jimmy Johnson, coach, 1989-1993 Dallas Cowboys, 1996-99 Miami Dolphins.

Mike Kenn, OT, 1978-1994 Atlanta Falcons.

Ty Law, CB, 1995-2004 New England Patriots, 2005, 2008 New York Jets, 2006-07 Kansas City Chiefs, 2009 Denver Broncos.

John Lynch, FS, 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos.

Clay Matthews, LB, 1978-1993 Cleveland Browns, 1994-96 Atlanta Falcons.

Kevin Mawae, OC/OG, 1994-97 Seattle Seahawks, 1998-2005 New York Jets, 2006-09 Tennessee Titans.

Karl Mecklenburg, LB, 1983-1994 Denver Broncos.

Terrell Owens, WR, 1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati Bengals.

Jason Taylor, DE, 1997-2007, 2009, 2011 Miami Dolphins, 2008 Washington Redskins, 2010 New York Jets.

LaDainian Tomlinson, RB, 2001-09 San Diego Chargers, 2010-11 New York Jets.

Hines Ward, WR, 1998-2011 Pittsburgh Steelers.

Kurt Warner, QB, 1998-2003 St. Louis Rams, 2004 New York Giants, 2005-09 Arizona Cardinals.

Darren Woodson, S, 1992-2003 Dallas Cowboys. 

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram