After Cubs win, Arizona Cardinals on clock with longest title drought

Chicago Cubs celebrate winning the World Series.
Chicago Cubs celebrate winning the World Series. TNS

The Chicago Cubs did it: They won the World Series after 108 years of futility.

Now another team with Chicago roots has the longest active championship drought in North America.

The Arizona Cardinals last won the NFL Championship in 1947 when they were in Chicago. Since then, they have played in three cities, employed 28 head coaches and had only 20 seasons with winning records.

But at least Arizona has memories from the 2001 Diamondbacks’ World Series victory.

San Diego hasn’t won a major sports championship since the Chargers clinched the 1963 AFL title.

Here are the other longest droughts in each sport:

MLB: The Indians seemed destined to snap the second-longest championship drought in baseball, holding a 3-1 lead over the Cubs. But alas, they now own the longest drought, having last won the World Series in 1948.

NBA: The Sacramento Kings have not won the title since 1951 when they played in Rochester as the Royals.

NHL: The Toronto Maple Leafs last won the Stanley Cup in 1967. The St. Louis Blues joined the league in 1968 and have never won the Cup, thus sharing the longest drought with the Maple Leafs.

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram