Texas Rangers

Quantity of Rangers tweeters on the rise

Texas Rangers shortstop Elvis Andrus, taking a break during Rangers spring training, has 189,000 Twitter folllowers, second on the team behind Yu Darvish’s 1.25 million.
Texas Rangers shortstop Elvis Andrus, taking a break during Rangers spring training, has 189,000 Twitter folllowers, second on the team behind Yu Darvish’s 1.25 million. Star-Telegram

The annual spring social-media meeting was held a few weeks ago, and the numbers of Texas Rangers players with Twitter accounts rose yet again.

Holdouts like Adrian Beltre and Colby Lewis, among others, have seen their ranks decline as their teammates continue to get younger and younger.

Yu Darvish remains the player with the most follows, a whopping $1.25 million, and Elvis Andrus and Derek Holland are locked in a tight race for second, at some 189,000 to 188,000.

Holland is wildly active, at least as far as the Rangers are concern, with some 14,000 tweets. He also has been burned by someone stealing his password and tweeting a slur at a fan who had criticized his performance late in 2012.

“I was literally walking of the mound when it happened,” Holland said. “To this day I still have no idea who did it. You better make sure you have a good password.”

Here’s a list of players on the spring roster with Twitter accounts, along with the organizational affiliates:

Catchers: Robinson Chirinos, @robinson28ch; Carlos Corporan, @CCorporan3; Jorge Alfaro, @_JorgeAlfaro11; Chris Gimenez, @chrisgimenez5.

Infielders: Elvis Andrus, @elvisandrusSS1; Prince Fielder, @RealPFielder28; Rougned Odor, @rougnedodor; Adam Rosales, @arosie7; Jurickson Profar, @juricksonprofar; Joey Gallo, @joeygallo24; Hanser Alberto, @elpotroalberto; Elliot Johnson, @elliotjohnson9; Ed Lucas, @eluke21.

Outfielders: Leonys Martin, @leonys27martin; Ryan Rua, @Rua_Numba_2; Michael Choice, @VinnyChoice; Delino DeShields Jr., @linodeshields; Antoan Richardson, arichardson242; Carlos Peguero, @cpeguero4; Jared Hoying, @jhoying3035.

Pitchers: Derek Holland, @Dutch_Oven45; Yu Darvish, @faridyu; Neftali Feliz, @NefFeliz; Anthony Ranaudo, @anthony_ranaudo; Luke Jackson, YaBoy77; Phil Klein, @philklein31; Nick Martinez, @nickmartinez10; Spencer Patton, @sbpatton; Martin Perez, @MartinPerez33D; Shawn Tolleson, @shawntolleson38; Lisalverto Bonilla, @Lbonilla59; Michael Kirkman, @Kirkman_Michael; Jon Edwards, @Jon_edwards7; Jerad Eickhoff, @eickough19; Alex Gonzalez, @alexgonzalezchi; Alec Asher, @TheBigCat28; Anthony Bass, @anthonybass45.

Coaching staff: Jeff Banister, @bannyrooster28; Pudge Rodriguez; @Pudge_Rodriguez; Greg Maddux, @gregmaddux; Josh Frasier, @frasier66.

Clubs: Texas Rangers, @Rangers; Round Rock Express (Triple A), @RRExpress; Frisco RoughRiders (AA), @RidersBaseball; High Desert Mavericks (High A), @HDMavs; Hickory Crawdads (Low A), @HickoryCrawdads; Spokane Indians (Short-Season A), @spokaneindians.

Key stat

4 Relievers who saved at least one game for the Rangers last season. Of them, only Neftali Feliz, who finished the season as closer, remains in the organization.

Quotable

We have another muscle that we need to exercise and condition, and that’s focus. When you’re focused, Pitch 139 matters, Pitch 140 matters, the last pitch of the game matters. When we pay attention to those things, we’ve got a greater chance to be elite at the end of the game, at the beginning of the game, as well as in between.

— Manager Jeff Banister

Jeff Wilson, 817-390-7760

Twitter: @JeffWilson_FWST

  Comments