Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation launches new collegiate slugger award

The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation is launching a Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award for the 2017 baseball season.
The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation is launching a Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award for the 2017 baseball season. Star-Telegram

The Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation is making a change.

The foundation celebrated its 25th and final Lifetime Achievement Award gala last week at the Fort Worth Club. U.S. Rep. Roger Williams, a former TCU baseball standout, was the honoree.

The foundation’s board of directors also announced the launch of the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award for the 2017 baseball season.

The award is open to nominations from all 21 Division 1 baseball programs in Texas. It will honor annually the most outstanding offensive player based on personal integrity/community service, athletic performance and academic achievement.

The 21 schools participating are Abilene Christian, Baylor, Dallas Baptist, Houston, Houston Baptist, Incarnate Word, Lamar, Prairie View A&M, Rice, Sam Houston State, Stephen F. Austin, Texas A&M, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, TCU, UT Rio Grande Valley, Texas Southern, Texas State, Texas Tech, UT Arlington, UT Austin and UT San Antonio.

A “watch list” will be released in late January or early February and a gala to announce the 2017 winner is being developed.

“I would anticipate starting with 25-30 names on the watch list,” said Tracy Taylor, a consultant with the foundation. “Some schools might have two nominees.”

The winner will have a $2,500 scholarship awarded to his school’s general scholarship fund.

The foundation is changing its way of continuing to link baseball and providing opportunities for scholarships and awards.

“It was developed by the board. The idea is seen as the next chapter of where the foundation is going,” Taylor said. “They saw an opportunity to connect baseball and college education and be set up for the next 25 years.”

The foundation has awarded more than 730 scholarships worth more than $1.8 million in a unique format. It chooses to award the promise of a college scholarship to deserving eighth graders in an effort to help them reach their goal of attending college.

The Slugger Award is expected to be presented in a similar gala setting as the lifetime achievement award.

For more information, contact Tracy Taylor at

Bobby Bragan Lifetime Achievement Award

Congressman Roger Williams closes a 25-year run of some of the greatest names in sports who have received the Bobby Bragan Youth Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award. The past honorees:

2015: LaDainian Tomlinson

2014: Verne Lundquist

2013 Randy Galloway

2012: Bob Schieffer

2011: Bob R. Simpson

2010: T. Boone Pickens

2009: Jim “The Rookie” Morris

2008: Tom Grieve

2007: Earl Weaver

2006: Lou Brock, Brooks Robinson

2005: Willie Mays

2004: Bud Selig

2003: Bobby Bragan

2002: Bobby Richardson

2001: Bobby Valentine

2000: Charley Pride, Maury Wills, Jackie Robinson (posthumously)

1999: Tom Landry, Roger Staubach

1998: Hank Aaron

1997: Eddie Robinson, Gene Stallings

1996: Sparky Anderson, Tommy Lasorda, Gene Mauch

1995: Dan Jenkins

1994: Dr. Bobby Brown

1993: Byron Nelson

1992: Joe DiMaggio