Golfers from SMU, Texas top Ben Hogan Award watch list

SMU golfer Bryson Dechambeau and Texas’ Beau Hossler are among 24 players on the watch list for the 2015 Ben Hogan Award, given annually to the nation’s top college golfer.

The list, announced Friday, also includes Baylor’s Kyle Jones, Texas Tech’s Clement Sordet and Georgia Tech’s Ollie Schniederjans, the lone returnee from last year’s finalists that included 2014 recipient Patrick Rodgers of Stanford.

Members of the selection committee will pare the field to 10 semifinalists on April 15, with the winner announced May 18 in Fort Worth as part of tournament week activities at the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial.

In addition to Schniederjans and Dechambeau, Washington’s Cheng-Tsung Pan was selected as a semifinalist last year. Pan, a senior, is a three-time semifinalist and the lone golfer to be named to the watch list in four consecutive seasons.

The Hogan Award is open to golfers from the NCAA, NAIA or junior-college ranks. Players’ performance records in college and amateur events over the past 12 months is considered by the selection committee.

Other inclusions on the watch list include Jimmy Beck (Kennesaw State), Brian Campbell (Illinois), Charlie Danielson (Illinois), Thomas Detry (Illinois), Matt Gilchrest (Auburn), Gavin Green (New Mexico), Rico Hoey (Southern California), Jack Maguire (Florida State), Denny McCarthy (Virginia), Lee McCoy (Georgia), Maverick McNealy (Stanford), Jon Rahm (Arizona State), Max Rotluff (Arizona State), Xander Schauffele (San Diego State), Robby Shelton (Alabama), Hunter Stewart (Vanderbilt), Scott Vincent (Virginia Tech) and Will Zalatoris (Wake Forest).

Jimmy Burch, 817-390-7760

Twitter: @Jimmy_Burch