High School Sports

Abbott, Richland Springs win six-man state titles

Cade Ramsey rushed for 137 yards and three touchdowns and Abbott won its first state title with a 40-30 victory against two-time defending champion Crowell in the Class 1A Division I six-man championship game Saturday in Abilene.

Zane Cooper threw for 218 yards and two scores as Abbott (13-2) won in its second trip to the title game three years after losing to Throckmorton.

Daniel Clark had 110 yards rushing and touchdowns of 47 and 39 yards for Crowell (10-4), which beat May in the past two Division I championship games.

Abbott went ahead for good at 16-14 on the first possession of the third quarter on a 7-yard run by Ramsey and the second of four 2-point PAT kicks from Nolan Pustejovsky.

Truston Berger had 122 yards receiving, including a 27-yard touchdown for Abbott’s first score.

Richland Springs 72, Follett 26: Walker Tippie and Bryan Salinas each scored three touchdowns on three straight carries and Richland Springs extended its six-man record with a seventh state title in the Class 1A Division II championship game in Abilene.

Tippie threw a 42-yard scoring pass to Colt Carlisle on his team’s first offensive play, then the sophomore had three straight touchdown runs from 52, 35 and 50 yards.

Salinas scored four touchdowns in the second quarter, the first three on consecutive runs of 62, 31 and 56 yards.

Tippie finished with 199 yards rushing, and Salinas had 184.

Richland Springs (15-0) won on the 45-point mercy rule in its first title game since winning the last of three straight championships in 2012.