Doctson, Kindred lead TCU first-teamers on AP All-Big 12 squad

TCU safety Derrick Kindred moves in for a tackle against Texas Tech receiver Cameron Batson during the Big 12 game on Sept. 26 in Lubbock. Kindred was one of four TCU players named to the first team on the AP All-Big 12 squad.
TCU safety Derrick Kindred moves in for a tackle against Texas Tech receiver Cameron Batson during the Big 12 game on Sept. 26 in Lubbock. Kindred was one of four TCU players named to the first team on the AP All-Big 12 squad. Star-Telegram

Receiver Josh Doctson, center Joey Hunt, safety Derrick Kindred and kicker Josh Oberkrom were named first-team selections on the Associated Press All-Big 12 team announced Wednesday.

Four more Horned Frogs players earned second-team recognition: quarterback Trevone Boykin, tackle Halapoulivaati Vaitai, guard Brady Foltz and defensive end Josh Carraway.

All are seniors except Carraway, who led the team in sacks.

Doctson, Hunt, Kindred, Oberkrom, Boykin, Vaitai and Foltz all started full-time the past two seasons as TCU went 22-3, winning a share of the Big 12 championship in 2014.

Oklahoma’s Bob Stoops was named the coach of the year in balloting by 20 writers who cover the league. Sooners quarterback Baker Mayfield was the offensive player of the year, Oklahama State defensive end Emanuel Ogbah the defensive player of the year, and Iowa State’s Mike Warren the newcomer of the year.

Here is the complete list of honorees:

AP All-Big 12

The 2015 Associated Press All-Big 12 team, as selected by a panel of 20 sports writers who regularly cover the league for newspapers throughout the league’s five states. Players at all positions are listed alphabetically with name, school, height, weight, class and hometown; “u-” denotes unanimous selections.



Quarterback _ u-Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, 6-1, 209, Jr., Austin, Texas.

Running backs _ Samaje Perine, Oklahoma, 5-10, 230, So., Pflugerville, Texas; DeAndre Washington, Texas Tech, 5-8, 200, Sr., Missouri City, Texas.

Tackles _ Le’Raven Clark, Texas Tech, 6-6, 308, Sr., Rockdale, Texas; Spencer Drango, Baylor, 6-6, 320, Sr., Cedar Park, Texas.

Guards _ Jarell Broxton, Baylor, 6-5, 325, Sr., Gaithersburg, Md.; Nila Kasitati, Oklahoma, 6-3, 319, Sr., Euless, Texas.

Center _ Joey Hunt, TCU, 6-3, 295, Sr., El Campo, Texas.

Receivers _ u-Corey Coleman, Baylor, 5-11, 190, Jr., Richardson, Texas; Josh Doctson, TCU, 6-3, 195, Sr., Mansfield, Texas.

Tight end _ Mark Andrews, Oklahoma, 6-5, 245, Fr., Scottsdale, Ariz.

All-purpose player _ Jakeem Grant, Texas Tech, 5-7, 168, Sr., Mesquite, Texas.

Kicker _ Jaden Oberkrom, TCU, 6-3, 187, Sr., Arlington, Texas.


Ends _ u-Emmanuel Ogbah, Oklahoma St., 6-4, 275, Jr., Houston; Charles Tapper, Oklahoma, 6-2, 282, Sr., Baltimore.

Tackles _ Andrew Billings, Baylor, 6-2, 310, Jr., Waco, Texas; Will Geary, Kansas St., 6-0, 297, So., Topeka, Kan.

Linebackers _ Jordan Burton, Oklahoma St., 6-3, 215, Jr., Longview, Texas; Peter Jinkens, Texas, 6-0, 230, Sr., Dallas; Eric Striker, Oklahoma, 6-0, 222, Sr., Tampa, Fla.

Cornerbacks _ Xavien Howard, Baylor, 6-2, 200, Jr., Houston; Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma, 5-11, 179, Jr., Fort Worth, Texas.

Safeties _ Derrick Kindred, TCU, 5-10, 210, Sr., San Antonio; Jordan Sterns, Oklahoma St., 6-1, 205, Jr., Cibolo, Texas.

Punter _ Nick O’Toole, West Virginia, 6-3, 216, Sr., Corona, Calif.



Quarterback _ Trevone Boykin, TCU, 6-2, 205, Sr., Dallas.

Running backs _ Shock Linwood, Baylor, 5-9, 200, Jr., Linden, Texas; Wendell Smallwood, West Virginia, 5-11, 202, Jr., Wilmington, Del.

Tackles _ Halapoulivaati Vaitai, TCU, 6-6, 315, Sr., Haltom, Texas; Cody Whitehair, Kansas St., 6-4, 305, Sr., Abilene, Kan.

Guards _ Brady Foltz, TCU, 6-4, 320, Sr., Rose Hill, Kan.; Alfredo Morales, Texas Tech, 6-4, 319, Sr., Arlington, Texas.

Center _ (tie) Ty Darlington, Oklahoma, 6-3, 286, Sr., Apopka, Fla., and Kyle Fuller, Baylor, 6-5, 315, Jr., Wylie, Texas.

Receivers _ Sterling Shepard, Oklahoma, 5-10, 193, Sr., Oklahoma City; James Washington, Oklahoma St., 6-0, 200, So., Stamford, Texas.

Tight end _ Glenn Gronkowski, Kansas St., 6-3, 234, Jr., Amherst, N.Y.

All-purpose player _ Morgan Burns, Kansas St., 5-11, 201, Sr., Wichita, Kan.

Kicker _ Austin Seibert, Oklahoma, 5-10, 210, Fr., Belleville, Ill.


Ends _ Josh Carraway, TCU, 6-4, 250, Jr., Flower Mound, Texas; Noble Nwachukwu, West Virginia, 6-2, 271, Jr., Wylie, Texas.

Tackles _ Kyle Rose, West Virginia, 6-4, 295, Sr. Centerville, Ohio; Desmond Tucker, Iowa St., 6-0, 296, Jr., Hazelhurst, Miss.

Linebackers _ Dominique Alexander, Oklahoma, 6-0, 220, Jr., Tulsa, Okla.; Micah Awe, Texas Tech, 6-0, 221, Sr., Arlington, Texas; Nick Kwiatkoski, West Virginia, 6-2, 238, Sr., Bethel Park, Pa.

Cornerbacks _ Jordan Thomas, Oklahoma, 6-0, 191, So., Klein, Texas; Daryl Worley, West Virginia, 6-2, 202, Jr., Philadelphia.

Safeties _ Steven Parker, Oklahoma, 6-1, 200, So., Tulsa, Okla.; Fish Smithson, Kansas, 5-11, 190, Jr., Baltimore.

Punter _ Austin Seibert, Oklahoma, 5-10, 210, Fr., Belleville, Ill.


Coach of the year _ Bob Stoops, Oklahoma.

Offensive player of the year _ u-Baker Mayfield, QB, Jr., Oklahoma.

Defensive player of the year _ Emmanuel Ogbah, DE, Jr., Oklahoma St.

Newcomer of the year _ Mike Warren, RB, Fr., Iowa St.