Two Frogs earn first-team Big 12 honors. Sooners, Longhorns, Mountaineers clean up

TCU’s Ben Banogu: It was on us to right the ship

TCU defensive end Ben Banogu had one of the most productive games of his career. He had four tackles for loss and forced a fumble in TCU's 16-9 victory over Baylor.
Up Next
TCU defensive end Ben Banogu had one of the most productive games of his career. He had four tackles for loss and forced a fumble in TCU's 16-9 victory over Baylor.

TCU didn’t have the season it desired. At least from a record standpoint, becoming bowl eligible by reaching the minimum six wins in the regular-season finale.

But several players still shined for the Frogs and the Big 12 recognized a handful when it announced the All-Big 12 football awards on Wednesday.

TCU’s starting defensive ends, Ben Banogu and L.J. Collier, each were named to the first-team. Banogu, the preseason defensive player of the year, led the Frogs with 7.5 sacks and 17 tackles for loss. Collier finished with five sacks and 9.5 tackles for loss.

Those were the only two TCU players named to the first-team.

Wide receiver Jalen Reagor, who became the youngest player in school history to reach the 1,000-yard receiving mark, was named to the second team, along with right tackle Lucas Niang, cornerback Jeff Gladney and safety Ridwan Issahaku.

Reagor finished with 72 catches for 1,051 yards and nine touchdowns, as well as 161 rushing yards and two TDs in the ground game. But the Big 12’s receiving corps is loaded.

First-team honors went to Oklahoma’s Marquise Brown, Oklahoma State’s Tylan Wallace (a Fort Worth South Hills product) and West Virginia’s David Sills V. Joining Reagor on the second-team were Iowa State’s Hakeem Butler and Texas Tech’s Antoine Wesley. That meant standout receivers such as Texas’ Lil’Jordan Humphrey and Oklahoma’s CeeDee Lamb were relegated to honorable mention honors.

For the rest of TCU’s second-team honorees, Niang proved to be the most reliable offensive lineman, starting every game. Gladney ranked third in passes defended in the Big 12 with 14, having impressive performances shutting down Butler and Wallace.

Issahaku had the second-most tackles for TCU with 74, including two sacks and two interceptions.

Honorable mention honors went to Banogu for the conference’s defensive lineman of the year; Corey Bethley at defensive tackle; and Ty Summers at linebacker.

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray took home offensive player of the year honors. It marked the fourth consecutive season an OU player won offensive player of the year, as Murray followed QB Baker Mayfield (2015 and 2017) and WR Dede Westbrook (2016).

West Virginia defensive lineman David Long Jr. earned defensive player of the year. Long, who led the league with 18.5 tackles for loss, including eight sacks, is the first Mountaineers player to earn those honors.

Other notable winners were Baylor wide receiver Jalen Hurd as offensive newcomer of the year; Texas safety Caden Sterns as defensive newcomer of the year; Texas’ Charles Omenihu as defensive lineman of the year; and Oklahoma kicker Austin Seibert as special teams player of the year.

Oklahoma’s Lincoln Riley and Iowa State’s Matt Campbell shared coach of the year honors.

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram