TCU dominates All-Big 12 baseball team

TCU outfielder Cody Jones is the Big 12 player of the year after leading the conference in batting average, runs scored, on-base percentage and stolen bases.
TCU outfielder Cody Jones is the Big 12 player of the year after leading the conference in batting average, runs scored, on-base percentage and stolen bases. Star-Telegram

TCU dominates the the All-Big 12 baseball teams, with Cody Jones being named the player of the year, coach Jim Schlossnagle the unanimous choice for coach of the year and Connor Wanhanen the unanimous pick for freshman of the year.

The team and awards, announced Tuesday, are voted on by the league’s head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players.

Jones, an outfielder, leads the Big 12 in batting (.364 average), runs scored, on-base percentage and stolen bases. He is the league’s active career leader in runs and stolen bases.

Wanhanen, who played at Flower Mound High School, was also an unanimous choice on the All-Big 12 First Team and All-Freshman Team. He was the only freshman to rank in the top 10 in hits and stolen bases in Big 12 games.

Oklahoma State left-hander Michael Freeman is the pitcher of the year, and Kansas’ Ben Krauth is the newcomer of the year.

Schlossnagle led the Horned Frogs to their first Big 12 regular season crown. TCU leads the conference in batting average, ERA and fielding percentage. The second-ranked Horned Frogs open the Big 12 Tournament at 12:30 p.m. Wednesday against Baylor in Tulsa.

All Big 12 Team


C Gage Green, Oklahoma State, Sr.

INF Shane Conlon, Kansas State, Sr.

INF Kolbey Carpenter, Oklahoma, Jr.

INF Sheldon Neuse, Oklahoma, Soph.

INF Donnie Walton, Oklahoma State, Jr.

INF Eric Gutierrez, Texas Tech, Jr.

OF Connor McKay, Kansas, Sr.

OF Craig Aikin, Oklahoma, Jr.

OF Cody Jones, TCU, Sr.

OF Ben Johnson, Texas, Jr.

UTL Anthony Hermelyn, Oklahoma, Jr.

TCU Connor Wanhanen, Fr.

LHP Michael Freeman, Oklahoma State, Sr.

RHP Preston Morrison, TCU, Sr.

LHP Alex Young, TCU, Jr.

LHP Cameron Smith, Texas Tech, Sr.

RHP Riley Ferrell, TCU, Jr.

RHP Corey Taylor, Texas Tech, Sr.

Second team

C Michael Tinsley, Kansas, Soph.

INF Tim Arakawa, Oklahoma State, Sr.

INF Keaton Jones, TCU, Sr.

INF Tres Barrera, Texas, Soph.

INF Jackson Cramer, West Virginia, Soph.

INF Taylor Munden, West Virginia, Sr.

OF Corey Hassel, Oklahoma State, Jr.

OF Ryan Sluder, Oklahoma State, Soph.

OF Stephen Smith, Texas Tech, Soph.

UTL Kyle Davis, West Virginia, Fr.

DH Cory Raley, Texas Tech, Jr.

LHP Ben Krauth, Kansas, Jr.

RHP Nate Griep, Kansas State, Soph.

RHP Robert Tasin, Oklahoma, Sr.

RHP Parker French, Texas, Sr.

LHP Jacob Evans, Oklahoma, Jr.

RHP Dominic Moreno, Texas Tech, Sr.

Honorable mention

Baylor: Logan Brown, Daniel Castano, Adam Toth, Drew Tolson, Duncan Wendel.

Kansas: Blair Beck, Matt McLaughlin, Justin Protacio, Stephen Villines.

Kansas State: Max Brown, Corey Fischer, Tyler Moore, Tyler Wolfe; Oklahoma - Jake Elliott, Alec Hansen, Kyle Mendenhall.

Oklahoma State: Trey Cobb, Remey Reed, Dustin Williams.

TCU: Tyler Alexander, Nolan Brown, Jeremie Fagnan, Derek Odell, Evan Skoug, Dane Steinhagen, Trey Teakell, Mitchell Traver.

Texas Tech: Tyler Neslony.

West Virginia: Chad Donato, Justin Fox, Blake Smith, Ross Vance.

All-freshman team

OF Kameron Esthay, Baylor OF

INF Matt McLaughlin, Kansas

RHP Bryce Ward, Kansas State

INF Jacob Chappell, Oklahoma State

C Evan Skoug, TCU

DH Connor Wanhanen, TCU

INF Bret Boswell, Texas

C Michael Cantu, Texas

RHP Connor Mayes, Texas

INF Orlando Garcia, Texas Tech

UTL Kyle Davis, West Virginia

RHP BJ Myers, West Virginia