TCU's Baker, UTA's Salinas on 2018 Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award watch list

TCU junior infielder Luken Baker and Texas-Arlington senior outfielder/designated hitter Omar Salinas are two of the 25 players on the "watch list" for the the 2018 Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award, which was announced Monday night.

Texas Tech's Hunter Hargrove, a graduate of Mansfield High, won the inaugural baseball award, which is based on performance on the field, academics and personal integrity. Hargrove was selected in the 25th round of the Major League Baseball Draft by the Oakland Athletics last year.

Baker is a preseason All-American for the Horned Frogs.

Salinas is a preseason all-Sun Belt Conference selection by the league coaches. The Arlington High graduate was also a first-team all-conference pick in 2017.

The BBCSA will announce the semifinalists in May. The winner will be announced in June followed by a gala in the fall.

The 25 players represent 18 schools.

Texas A&M, Baylor, Dallas Baptist University, UT-Rio Grande Valley, Sam Houston, Lamar and Rice each placed two players on the list. They were Richard Cunningham and Davis Wendzel of Baylor, Hunter Coleman and Braden Shewmake of Texas A&M, Dominic DiCaprio and Ford Proctor of Rice, Devlin Grandberg and Jameson Hannah of Dallas Baptist, Grant DeVore and Cole Secrest of Lamar, Blake Chisolm and Andrew Fregia of Sam Houston State, and Ivan Estrella and Austin Siener of UT Rio Grande Valley.

Others on the list include Bryan Arias of UT-San Antonio, Kody Clemens of Texas, Joe Davis of Houston, Josh Evans of Stephen F. Austin, Spencer Halloran of Houston Baptist, Josh Jung of Texas Tech, Guadencia Lucca of Texas Southern, Luke Marbach of Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, and Jonathan Ortega of Texas State.