National Merit Scholarship winners announced

Fifteen students from Tarrant County area high schools won $2,500 National Merit Scholarships.

Nationwide, some 2,500 Merit Scholars were chosen from among 15,000 finalists in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholars are selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors who considered several factors; including subjects taken, grades earned, standardized test scores, school leadership, community activities and an essay.

The competition for these scholarships began in October 2013 when more than 1.4 million juniors in about 22,000 high schools took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Last fall, the highest-scoring participants in each state were named semifinalists. By the end of the 2015 program, about 7,600 finalists have earned the “Merit Scholar” title and received about $34 million in college scholarships.

National Merit $2,500 Scholarship Winners


Michael Coker, Argyle High School, computer programming


Angela Chen, Martin High School, computer science

Ran Zhou, Arlington High School, computer science

George M. Emrich, Nolan Catholic High School, statistics


Jim Liu, Grapevine High School, medicine

Shayal S. Vashisth, Grapevine High School, mathematics


Souvik Banerjee, Colleyville Heritage High School, computer science

Fort Worth

James Eric Getz, All Saints Episcopal School, business

Hayley M. Kuhlmann, Paschal High School, academia

Santosh K. Murugan, Trinity Valley School, medicine

Spencer R. Rhoades, Timber Creek High School, biochemistry

Melody J. Rodriguez, Fort Worth Country Day School, public policy


Kelly E. Danner, Carroll High School, academia

John M. Everett, Carroll High School, law

Michael D. Everett, Carroll High School, finance