Getting married is an exciting time in a couple’s life together. Wedding planning is the next logical step after the engagement announcement, and while couples often get swept up in planning their dream parties, it’s important to note that ultimately the ceremony is the star of the day.
While laws may vary from state to state within the United States, getting a marriage license generally involves filling out the application and paying a fee at the county clerk’s office. Both applicants are required to bring identification, such as a driver’s license, passport or birth certificate. There may be a waiting period between submitting the application and the license being issued.
Here in Texas, couples may apply for a marriage license at any County Clerk’s office in the state of Texas. The Tarrant County Clerk’s office is located at 200 Taylor Street, Suite 301 in Fort Worth. Marriage licenses issued by the Tarrant County Clerk’s office are valid in all counties in Texas. The cost for a license is $71 cash. A three-percent fee is added for payment by credit card. There is typcially a 72-hour waiting period after the license is issued. The license is valid for 30 days after the waiting period is up.
A marriage license is not the same as a marriage certificate. The marriage certificate typically becomes available after the ceremony has taken place and the witnesses and officiant have signed off on the preceedings. For more information, visit www.cityapplications.com.
Premium content for only $0.99
For the most comprehensive local coverage, subscribe today.