Other Sports

Colorado cowboy, Brazilian big winners in cutting horse finale

Even thought the horse lost its footing while turning back into the herd, Kenneth Platt rides Moms Stylish Player to a score of 226.
Even thought the horse lost its footing while turning back into the herd, Kenneth Platt rides Moms Stylish Player to a score of 226. jlmarshall@star-telegram.com

Like thoroughbred horse racing, the National Cutting Horse Association features a Triple Crown Series each year.

The three jewels are the December Futurity, the April Super Stakes and the August Summer Spectacular. All three jewels are conducted at the Will Rogers Memorial Coliseum.

This season, Colorado cowboy Kenneth Platt and Moms Stylish Player won the second and third jewels in the open division, which mostly features pro riders.

Also, Brazilian Armando Costa Neto, who lives in Weatherford, and a horse named Watch Me Whip became the first duo to win the Triple Crown in the non-pro division.

Platt and Neto took the third jewels of the Triple Crown at the NCHA Summer Spectacular concluded Saturday night at Will Rogers Memorial Coliseum.

He’s just exceptional. He holds as bad of a cow as a horse can hold.

Kenneth Platt on his horse, Mom’s Stylish Player

Platt, a Colorado cowboy, and Moms Stylish Player won the Super Stakes in April with a score of 228. They followed up this weekend by winning the Summer Spectacular, with a 226 in the finals.

“He’s just exceptional,” Platt said of Mom’s Stylish Player, a gelding who is owned by Robert Tregemba of Castle Rock, Colo. “He holds as bad of a cow as a horse can hold.”

Only three horses have won the Triple Crown in the open division. They are Smart Little Lena and Bill Freeman (1982-82), Docs Okie Quixote and Joe Heim (1983-84), and Chiquita Pistol and Tag Rice (2002-2003).

But in the non-pro division, no rider had won all three jewels until Neto pulled it off this season.

“It doesn’t seem real because it’s the first time for a non-pro,” Neto said.

Neto praised Watch Me Whip for her consistency. The mare clinched the Summer Spectacular title with a finals score of 223.5.

“She’s a special mare,” he said. “She wants to hold a cow. You can count on her, she’s always there.”

Hall of Famers

Dave Appleton of Fort Worth was among five world champions who were inducted into the Pro Rodeo Hall of Fame on Saturday in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Appleton, who was a bareback and saddle bronc rider, won the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association world all-around title in 1988 and became the first Australian native to snare a gold buckle. Arnold Felts of Dublin, who won the world steer roping title in 1981, also was inducted.

The other former world champions who entered the hall were John Quintana (bull riding, 1972), Jerold Camarillo (team roping, 1969) and Bud Linderman (bareback riding, 1945).

Joining them were rodeo notable Myrtis Dightman, announcer Phil Gardenhire, renowned steer wrestling horse Scottie, famous saddle bronc horse and sire Gray Wolf, and committees for the Spanish Fork (Utah) Fiesta Days Rodeo and Redding (Calif.) Rodeo.

Cheyenne winners

Jacobs Crawley, the PRCA’s 2015 world champion saddle bronc rider, claimed the title at the 120th Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo in Wyoming on July 31 and earned $16,480.

Crawley, a former Stephenville resident who lives in Boerne, is ranked No.1 in the PRCA 2016 saddle bronc standings with $126,656.

Tyler Wade of Terrell and Dakota Kirchenschlager of Morgan Mill clinched the team roping title. Each man earned $17,473, the highest of all competitors in a single event.

Tiller Murray of Fort Worth clinched the barrel racing title and earned $16,417.

Other winners were all-around cowboy J.D. Yates ($24,351 in team roping and steer roping), bareback rider Orin Larsen), steer wrestler J.D. Struxness, bull rider Roscoe Jarboe and tie-down roper Jerome Schneeberger.