Dallas Cowboys

First-timers Sean Lee, Dan Bailey lead Cowboys group in Pro Bowl

Dallas Cowboys kicker Dan Bailey will be playing in his first Pro Bowl on Sunday.
Dallas Cowboys kicker Dan Bailey will be playing in his first Pro Bowl on Sunday. Star-Telegram

Sunday’s annual Pro Bowl game will have five Dallas Cowboys, including two first-timers in linebacker Sean Lee and kicker Dan Bailey.

Joining Lee and Bailey will be offensive linemen Travis Frederick, Zack Martin and Tyron Smith.

Kickoff is set for 6 p.m. at Aloha Stadium in Hawaii. The game will air on ESPN.

Lee was added as a replacement for Kansas City’s Justin Houston, who will miss the game because of a knee injury. Lee, a six-year veteran, led the Cowboys with career highs in tackles (156) and tackles for loss (11). He had 2.5 sacks.

“I think we’ve always felt like since the day he walked into the doors at Valley Ranch he was going to be a Pro Bowl player,” Cowboys vice president Stephen Jones said of Lee. “He’s had some bad luck in terms of his injuries and those types of things, but he deserves every bit of it. He’s one of the best football players that we’ve had since we’ve been involved with the team.”

Bailey made 30 of 32 field-goal attempts and all 25 conversion kicks. He led Dallas in scoring with 115 points.

Smith made the Pro Bowl for the third time in his five NFL seasons.

Martin made the Pro Bowl for the second time in his two seasons.

Frederick made the team for the second time in three seasons.

Former Cowboys great Michael Irvin and former San Francisco superstar Jerry Rice are team legend captains.

Winston Moss of Green will coach Team Irvin. Andy Reid of Kansas City will coach Team Rice.

Best not there

The Carolina Panthers placed a league-best 10 players on the team.

Of course, the Panthers are a little busy right now.

They’re preparing for Super Bowl 50 against the Denver Broncos next week.

Bet you didn’t know ...

On Jan. 21, 1973, the Pro Bowl was held at Texas Stadium in Irving.

The AFC beat the NFC 33-28.

Buffalo running back O.J. Simpson was named the player of the game, which drew a crowd of 37,091.

The game was held in Houston three times: Jeppesen Stadium (1965), Rice Stadium (1966), and the Astrodome (1970).

Cash money

Under terms of the collective bargaining agreement, each player on the winning Pro Bowl team receives $58,000, while each player on the losing squad earns $29,000.

Time capsule

The first Pro Bowl game was played on Jan. 15, 1939 at Wrigley Field in Los Angeles.

The New York Giants beat the Pro All-Stars 13-10.

The presenter

The game is being presented by USAA, which is an extension of USAA’s Official Military Appreciation Sponsorship of the NFL. It delivers military appreciation experiences to military, veterans and their families at NFL games, training camps and on military bases throughout the NFL season.

NFL Pro Bowl rosters

Sunday’s game at Honolulu


Coach: Winston Moss, Green Bay

OFFENSE — Quarterbacks: Russell Wilson, Seattle; Jameis Winston, Tampa Bay; Teddy Bridgewater, Minnesota. Running backs: Devonta Freeman, Atlanta; Todd Gurley, St. Louis; Latavius Murray, Oakland. Wide receivers: Julio Jones, Atlanta; A.J. Green, Cincinnati; DeAndre Hopkins, Houston; Allen Robinson, Jacksonville. Tight ends: Tyler Eifert, Cincinnati; Delanie Walker, Tennessee. Fullback: Patrick DiMarco, Atlanta. Tackles: Andrew Whitworth, Cincinnati; Tyron Smith, Dallas; Branden Albert, Miami. Guards: Marshal Yanda, Baltimore; Zack Martin, Dallas; David DeCastro, Pittsburgh. Centers: Alex Mack, Cleveland; Travis Frederick, Dallas.

DEFENSE — Co-captain: Darren Woodson. Defensive ends: Ezekiel Ansah, Detroit; Michael Bennett, Seattle; Carlos Dunlap, Cincinnati. Defensive tackles: Jurrell Casey, Tennessee; Calais Campbell, Arizona; Geno Atkins, Cincinnati. Outside linebackers: Anthony Barr, Minnesota; Lavonte David, Tampa Bay; Sean Lee, Dallas. Inside linebackers: Derrick Johnson, Kansas City; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco. Cornerbacks: Richard Sherman, Seattle; Desmond Trufant, Atlanta; Adam Jones, Cincinnati; Dominque Rodgers-Cromartie, New York Giants. Safeties: Reshad Jones, Miami; Malcolm Jenkins, Philadelphia; Harrison Smith, Minnesota

SPECIAL TEAMS — Punter: Sam Koch, Baltimore. Placekicker: Dan Bailey, Dallas. Return specialist: Darren Sproles, Philadelphia. Special-teamer: Justin Bethel, Arizona.


Coach: Andy Reid, Kansas City

OFFENSE — Quarterbacks: Eli Manning, New York Giants; Derek Carr, Oakland; Tyrod Talor, Buffalo. Running backs: Adrian Peterson, Minnesota; Doug Martin, Tampa Bay, Chris Ivory, N.Y. Jets. Wide receivers: Odell Beckham, Jr., New York Giants; Jarvis Landry, Miami; Amari Cooper, Oakland; T.Y. Hilton, Indianapolis. Tight ends: Travis Kelce, Kansas City; Gary Barnidge, Cleveland. Fullback: John Kuhn, Green Bay. Tackles: Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Joe Staley, San Francisco; Kyle Long, Chicago. Guards: Josh Sitton, Green Bay; Logan Mankins, Tampa Bay; Richie Incognito, Buffalo. Centers: Eric Wood, Buffalo; Nick Mangold, New York Jets

DEFENSE — Co-captain: Eric Davis. Defensive ends: Khalil Mack, Oakland; Everson Griffen, Minnesota; Cameron Jordan, New Orleans. Defensive tackles: Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay; Aaron Donald, St. Louis; Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia. Outside linebackers: Tamba Hali, Kansas City; Julius Peppers, Green Bay; Elvis Dumervil, Baltimore. Inside linebackers: Bobby Wagner, Seattle; Clay Matthews, Green Bay. Cornerbacks: Marcus Peters, Kansas City; Vontae Davis, Indianapolis, Brent Grimes, Miami; Jason Verrett, San Diego. Safeties: Eric Berry, Kansas City; Mike Adams, Indianapolis; Charles Woodson, Oakland.

SPECIAL TEAMS — Punter: Johnny Hekker, St. Louis. Placekicker: Josh Brown, New York Giants. Return specialist: Tyler Lockett, Seattle. Special-teamer: Cedric Peerman, Cincinnati.