Dallas Mavericks

History says the Mavericks pick at No. 5 in NBA Draft won't find success in Dallas

The No. 5 overall pick in the NBA Draft is a black hole that is mostly devoid of franchise-altering players..

At least it has been, historically. And in the past decade, the talent level has been downright putrid.

Dallas had excellent odds to land a top-three overall selection. Instead, the franchise dropped to the fifth overall pick at the NBA Draft Lottery on Tuesday night.

If players such as Marvin Bagley III, Michael Porter Jr. or Mohamed Bamba fall down the board, maybe the Mavericks can buck the recent string of disappointments in that particular draft spot.

Then again, their history of drafting in the lottery isn't very good either.

De'Aaron Fox of the Kings and Kris Dunn of the Bulls still have time to develop, so they will not be included. But here are few notes about the class dating back to 1990.

Of the 36 players drafted at No. 5 dating back to 1980 (excluding recently drafted Dunn and Fox):

-Only one player has won an NBA title with the team that drafted him (Dwayne Wade with the Miami Heat).

-Three are members of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame (Charles Barkley, Scottie Pippen and Mitch Richmond) and one will be inducted in the upcoming class (Ray Allen).

-Just two are locks to be inducted into the Hall-of-Fame (Kevin Garnett and Dwayne Wade).

-At the moment, only one other player is a realistic candidate for the hall (Vince Carter).

-12 have been named to at least one All-Star team. Nine of those players made multiple all-star teams.

-Just one (Dwayne Wade in 2009) has led the NBA in scoring

-Three have led the league in rebounding (Barkley, Garnett, Love)

-Just two have claimed an NBA MVP award (Charles Barkley in 1993 and Kevin Garnett in 2004)

Here's the complete list dating back to 1990, courtesy of basketballinsiders.com.


2017 De’Aaron Fox, Kentucky – Sacramento Kings

2016 Kris Dunn, Providence – Minnesota Timberwolves

2015 Mario Hezonja, FC Barcelona Basquet – Orlando Magic

2014 Dante Exum, Australia – Utah Jazz

2013 Alex Len, Maryland – Phoenix Suns

2012 Thomas Robinson, Kansas – Sacramento Kings

2011 Jonas Valanciunas, Lithuania – Toronto Raptors

2010 Demarcus Cousins, Kentucky – Sacramento Kings


2009 Ricky Rubio, Spain – Minnesota Timberwolves

2008 Kevin Love, UCLA – Memphis Grizzlies

2007 Jeff Green, Georgetown – Boston Celtics

2006 Shelden Williams, Duke – Atlanta Hawks

2005 Raymond Felton, North Carolina – Charlotte Bobcats

2004 Devin Harris, Wisconsin – Washington Wizards

2003 Dwyane Wade, Marquette – Miami HEAT

2002 Nikoloz Tskitishvili, Italy – Denver Nuggets

2001 Jason Richardson, Michigan State – Golden State Warriors

2000 Mike Miller, Florida – Orlando Magic


1999 Jonathan Bender, Picayune HS (Miss.) – Toronto Raptors

1998 Vince Carter, North Carolina – Golden State Warriors

1997 Tony Battie, Texas Tech – Denver Nuggets

1996 Ray Allen, Connecticut – Minnesota Timberwolves

1995 Kevin Garnett, Farragut Academy (Ill.) – Minnesota Timberwolves

1994 Juwan Howard, Michigan – Washington Bullets

1993 Isaiah Rider, UNLV – Minnesota Timberwolves

1992 LaPhonso Ellis, Notre Dame – Denver Nuggets

1991 Steve Smith, Michigan State – Miami Heat

1990 Kendall Gill, Illinois – Charlotte Hornets


1989 J.R. Reid, North Carolina – Charlotte Hornets

1988 Mitch Richmond, Kansas State – Golden State Warriors

1987 Scottie Pippen, Central Arkansas – Seattle Supersonics

1986 Kenny Walker, Kentucky – New York Knicks

1985 Jon Koncak, Southern Methodist – Atlanta Hawks

1984 Charles Barkley, Auburn – Philadelphia 76ers

1983 Sidney Green, UNLV – Chicago Bulls

1982 LaSalle Thompson, Texas – Kansas City Kings

1981 Danny Vranes, Utah – Seattle Supersonics

1980 James Ray, Jacksonville – Denver Nuggets

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram