High School Sports

Texas UIL girls: Duncanville breezes; Argyle, Canyon repeat as state champs; Lipan ends Nazareth reign

Lipan’s Lanie Roberts, right, hugs teammate Lipan’s Maddie McGee (44) as they celebrate their win over Nazareth in a UIL Class A girls high school state final basketball game, Saturday in San Antonio. Lipan won 54-43.
Lipan’s Lanie Roberts, right, hugs teammate Lipan’s Maddie McGee (44) as they celebrate their win over Nazareth in a UIL Class A girls high school state final basketball game, Saturday in San Antonio. Lipan won 54-43. AP

Sophomore Aniya Thomas scored 10 first-quarter points as unbeaten Duncanville raced to a 20-5 lead and cruised past Spring Dekaney 76-42 for the Class 6A state championship.

Duncanville (39-0) capped the fifth unbeaten season in school history with their eighth state championship.

Thomas scored seven of the first nine points as the Pantherettes led 11-0 before Dekaney (38-2) managed a basket. Duncanville extended the lead with a 13-4 second quarter advantage to lead 33-9 at the half. Thomas finished with 13 points.

Zarielle Green scored 25 points with six rebounds for Duncanville and was named finals MVP. University of Louisville bound post Ciera Johnson added 14 rebounds with eight points while Madison Townley contributed 14 points and eight rebounds. Kene Hamilton led Dekaney with 17 points and 14 rebounds.

Class 5A

Canyon 41, Frisco Liberty 34: Angel Hayden won her second straight championship game MVP and Canyon won their third straight and 18th overall state title as the Eagles defeated Frisco Liberty.

Hayden scored 16 points and garnered six rebounds to win her individual honor and has started on the last three Canyon (35-1) championship teams. Caitlyn Cunyus and McKenzie Taylor each added eight points for Canyon while Bailey Byrd had five rebounds.

Rebecca Lescay led Frisco Liberty (33-7) with 11 points as Katelyn Burtch had nine points and seven boards for the Red Hawks.

Canyon made its state record 26th appearance in the state tournament with 18 state titles, second only to 20 won by Class 1A Nazareth.

Class 4A

Argyle 53, Waco LaVega 43: Sophomore Gabby Standifer scored 18 points including a trio of 3- point shots and nabbed nine rebounds to lead defending Class 4A state champion Argyle past Waco LaVega.

Standifer, who was named championship game MVP, scored 11 points including all three of her treys during a 17-6 Argyle (35-1) scoring run that rallied the Eagles from a 9-7 mid-first quarter deficit to a 21-13 lead in the second quarter.

Vivian Gray scored 15 points with five boards for Argyle while Madison Ralston contributed ten points and four rebounds.

Calveion Landrum, a Baylor signee, led the Pirates with 21 points while Ta’Naiya Norwood added eight points and Odision another seven points for LaVega (33-3).

Class A

Lipan 54, Nazareth 43: Record-setting Lanie Roberts scored 23 points and grabbed 13 rebounds as Lipan defeated two-time defending champion Nazareth.

Bryanna Phelps added 14 points for Lipan (32-7), which won its first state championship Saturday in its seventh trip to state.

Roberts set the single-game scoring record for the state tournament with 49 points in the semifinal win over Roby, then broke the two-game record of 50 points that she set in 2015 when Lipan lost to Nazareth. Roberts’ 72 points is the University Interscholastic League state record for modern day (full court) girls’ basketball.

Allie Schulte scored 20 points while Deborah Van Disk added 15 points and 10 rebounds for Nazareth (31-6), which made a state-record 25th state tournament, having won 20 championships.

Class 2A

Weimar 52, Panhandle 47: Junior Jazmine Kirby scored 22 points and grabbed 12 rebounds as she led Weimar over Panhandle in the girls’ Class 2A championship.

The championship Saturday was the first in girls’ basketball for Weimar (39-2). The Wildcats lost in the semifinals the past two seasons. Top seed Panhandle (35-2) led 39-38 in the fourth quarter but Weimar staged an 11-2 scoring run to build a 49-41 lead with 31 seconds left in the game.

Summer Almeida added a double-double for Weimar with 11 points and 10 rebounds. Kirby was named the championship game MVP.

Rylee Albracht and Macalle Melton scored 11 points each for Panhandle with Albracht adding 10 rebounds. Panhandle won a state title in 1992 and was making its fifth appearance at the state tournament.