High School Sports

OU, A&M commits; Haltom’s Tucker, Arlington’s Peach headline Landry Award nominees

Carroll RB TJ McDaniel (left) is also a nominee this year; Arlington coach Scott Peach (right)
Carroll RB TJ McDaniel (left) is also a nominee this year; Arlington coach Scott Peach (right)

Johnathan Gray, Jett Duffey, Kennedy Brooks and John Stephen Jones are just a few that have won the prestigious Tom Landry Award, which honors the top high school football player in North Texas who demonstrates positive character and leadership attributes.

On Dec. 10, one of five nominees will join that elite group.

WHEN: Monday, Dec. 10; 6 p.m. reception; 7 p.m. award presentation.

WHERE: The Hope Center, 2001 W. Plano Pkwy, Plano, Texas 75075

CBS 11’s Bill Jones will host the program, which will air on CBS 11 Friday, Dec. 21 at 6:30 p.m. Tickets to the ceremony are available at http://www.dfwfca.org/landryaward. The event benefits the Greater Dallas Fort Worth Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

The nominees this year include Mansfield Legacy defensive tackle Enoch Jackson, Southlake Carroll running back T.J. McDaniel, Arlington quarterback Jahari Rogers, Allen wide receiver Theo Wease and Dallas Bishop Dunne safety Brian Williams.


Jackson: Committed to Arkansas, Jackson has made 76 tackles, 24 for loss and 8 sacks in two seasons with the Broncos.

McDaniel: Coming off a 5 TD performance vs. Coppell, this SMU commit has over 1,800 yards and 30 TDs this season.

Rogers: The 2020 athlete has the Colts 11-0 and has accounted for 3,100 yards and 45 TDs.

Wease: Oklahoma commit is a 5-star prospect and ranked as the No. 3 receiver in the nation.

Williams: The Texas A&M commit is ranked as the No. 2 safety in the country.

The Landry Award will also hand out a trophy for the Coach of the Year.

The nominees include Chad Cole (Frisco Reedy), Kody Groves (Mesquite Poteet), Todd Rodgers (Argyle), Scott Peach (Arlington) and Haltom’s Jason Tucker, who was a nominee last year.

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram