Former NFL QB to receive Davey O’Brien Legends Award

Former NFL quarterback Ron Jaworski has been named this year’s recipient of the Davey O’Brien Legends Award, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced on Friday.

The Davey O'Brien Legends Award was established in 2001 to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the foundation by recognizing a quarterback who has made significant contributions to the game of football on and off the field.

Jaworski will be honored alongside National Quarterback Award winner Baker Mayfield, of Oklahoma, at the 41st Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 19 at the Fort Worth Club.

Jaworski spent 17 seasons in the National Football League after being selected by the Los Angeles Rams in the 2nd round (37th overall) of the 1973 NFL Draft. He played for the Rams (1973-76), Philadelphia Eagles (1977-86), Miami Dolphins (1987-88) and Kansas City Chiefs (1989).

In 1980, Jaworski was named the Bert Bell Award winner as the NFL's top player, and also earned NFC Player of the Year, UPI NFL Player of the Year and All-Pro honors. He led Philadelphia to a 12-4 regular season record and the NFC Championship. The Eagles' appearance in Super Bowl XV was the first in franchise history.

For his career, Jaworski was 2,187-of-4,117 passing for 28,190 yards and 179 touchdowns. At the time of his retirement, he held the all-time record for consecutive starts by a quarterback with 116, a figure that now ranks seventh.

Jaworski went on to have a very successful career as an NFL analyst on ESPN from 1990-2017.

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram