College Confidential

Boykin, Petty among O’Brien Award semfinalists

TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin and Baylor’s Bryce Petty are among the 16 semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, organizers announced Tuesday.

Boykin and Petty, the only semifinalists from Texas-based colleges, were joined on the elite list by Florida State’s Jameis Winston, the 2013 O’Brien Award and Heisman Trophy winner, as well as Oregon’s Marcus Mariota, Mississippi State’s Dak Prescott, Auburn’s Nick Marshall, Notre Dame’s Everett Golson and others.

The list will be thinned later this month to three finalists, with the winner announced Dec. 11 during The Home Depot College Football Awards telecast on ESPN. The recipient will be honored during an awards dinner at the Fort Worth Club on Fec. 16, 2015.

Rounding out the list of semifinalists were J.T. Barrett (Ohio State), Shane Carden (East Carolina), Rakeem Cato (Marshall), Connor Cook (Michigan State), Brett Hundley (UCLA), Blake Sims (Alabama), Clint Trickett (West Virginia), Bo Wallace (Ole Miss) and Jake Waters (Kansas State).