College Confidential

Staubach earns top college QB honor from FWAA voters

Dallas Cowboys quarterback Roger Staubach calls out the signals in Super Bowl XII against the Denver Broncos. Staubach has selected by the FWAA as the top QB in college football of the past 75 seasons.
Dallas Cowboys quarterback Roger Staubach calls out the signals in Super Bowl XII against the Denver Broncos. Staubach has selected by the FWAA as the top QB in college football of the past 75 seasons. AP

Roger Staubach, a Super Bowl-winning quarterback for the Dallas Cowboys and the 1963 Heisman Trophy winner from Navy, was selected today as the top quarterback of the last 75 years in college football in balloting by the Football Writers Association of America.

Staubach earn first-team honors at quarterback on the FWAA’s 75th anniversary team, a 75-member squad comprised of players who competed between the organization’s founding in 1941 through the 2014 season. Other first-team selections with connections to the Lone Star State included linebackers Tommy Nobis (Texas) and Mike Singletary (Baylor).

Texas finished with four selections on the FWAA squad, the only in-state school to have more than one honoree. Other Longhorns joining Nobis on the list included defensive back Jerry Gray (second team), punter Russell Erxleben (second team) and offensive tackle Jerry Sisemore (third team).

Texas A&M kicker Tony Franklin, a Fort Worth Arlington Heights graduate, earned third-team honors.

Nebraska finished with the most honorees (6), led by four first-team selections: offensive linemen Will Shields and Dave Rimington, defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh and kick returner Johnny Rodgers.

The full team, comprised entirely of players who earned FWAA All-America honors during their playing careers, is below:



QB Roger Staubach, Navy

RB Archie Griffin, Ohio State

RB Herschel Walker, Georgia

WR Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh

WR Jerry Rice, Mississippi Valley State

TE Keith Jackson, Oklahoma

OL John Hannah, Alabama

OL Orlando Pace, Ohio State

OL Will Shields, Nebraska

OL Ron Yary, USC

C Dave Rimington, Nebraska


DT Lee Roy Selmon, Oklahoma

DT Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska

DE Leon Hart, Notre Dame

DE Ted Hendricks, Miami (Fla.)

LB Tommy Nobis, Texas

LB Mike Singletary, Baylor

LB Derrick Thomas, Alabama

DB Ronnie Lott, USC

DB Deion Sanders, Florida State 

DB Jack Tatum, Ohio State

DB Charles Woodson, Michigan


P Ray Guy, Southern Miss

K Kevin Butler, Georgia 

RS Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska


QB Tim Tebow, Florida

RB Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh

RB Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State

WR Fred Biletnikoff, Florida State 

WR Randy Moss, Marshall

TE Mike Ditka, Pittsburgh

OL Bill Fralic, Pittsburgh

OL John Hicks, Ohio State

OL Calvin Jones, Iowa

OL Jonathan Ogden, UCLA

C Chuck Bednarik, Penn


DT Merlin Olsen, Utah State

DT Randy White, Maryland

DE Hugh Green, Pittsburgh

DE Bruce Smith, Virginia Tech

LB Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma

LB Dick Butkus, Illinois

LB Luke Kuechly, Boston College

DB Champ Bailey, Georgia

DB Kenny Easley, UCLA

DB Jerry Gray, Texas

DB Ed Reed, Miami (Fla.)


P Russell Erxleben, Texas

K Mason Crosby, Colorado

RS Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame


QB Tommie Frazier, Nebraska

RB Bo Jackson, Auburn

RB Doak Walker, SMU

WR Anthony Carter, Michigan

WR Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech

TE Gordon Hudson, BYU

OL Barrett Jones, Alabama

OL Willie Roaf, Louisiana Tech

OL Jerry Sisemore, Texas

OL Dean Steinkuhler, Nebraska

C Jim Ritcher, N.C. State


DT Steve Emtman, Washington

DT Reggie White, Tennessee

DE Bubba Smith, Michigan State

DE Jack Youngblood, Florida

LB Jack Ham, Penn State

LB Lee Roy Jordan, Alabama

LB Chris Spielman, Ohio State

DB Dré Bly, North Carolina

DB Dave Brown, Michigan

DB Troy Polamalu, USC

DB Roy Williams, Oklahoma


P Rohn Stark, Florida State

K Tony Franklin, Texas A&M

RS Derek Abney, Kentucky

75th Anniversary All-Americans by school (75 players from 41 schools):Nebraska 6, Ohio State 5, Pittsburgh 5, Alabama 4, Oklahoma 4, Texas 4, Florida State 3, Georgia 3, Michigan 3, USC 3, Florida 2, Miami (Fla.) 2, Notre Dame 2, UCLA 2, Auburn 1, Baylor 1, Boston College 1, BYU 1, Colorado 1, Georgia Tech 1, Illinois 1, Iowa 1, Kentucky 1, Louisiana Tech 1, Marshall 1, Maryland 1, Michigan State 1, Mississippi Valley State 1, Navy 1, North Carolina 1, N.C. State 1, Oklahoma State 1, Penn 1, Penn State 1, SMU 1, Southern Miss 1, Tennessee 1, Texas A&M 1, Utah State 1, Virginia Tech 1, Washington 1.

75th Anniversary All-Americans by current conference: Big Ten Conference 19, Atlantic Coast Conference 15, Southeastern Conference 13, Big 12 Conference 10, Pac-12 Conference 7, Conference USA 3, Independents 3, American Athletic Conference 2, Ivy League 1, Mountain West Conference 1, Southwestern Athletic Conference 1.