Let the games begin: A look at the teams in the College World Series

Here is a look at the eight teams in the College World Series, which begins Saturday. The winners of each double-elimination bracket play a three-game series June 27-29 for the national championship.

Bracket 1

Arizona (44-21)

The Wildcats have won four national championships, their last coming in 2012. They swept Mississippi State in Starkville after advancing to the Super Regional out of the Lafayette Region. RHPs Nathan Bannister and Bobby Dalbec have combined for 21 wins and 168 strikeouts.

Miami (50-12)

Winners of four national titles, the No. 3 national seed Hurricanes reached the NCAA tournament for a record 44th consecutive season. LHP Michael Mediavilla (11-1, 3.11 ERA) is the Hurricanes’ first 11-game winner since 2008. Catcher Zack Collins, a 6-foot-3, 220-pound junior, hit .357 with 15 home runs and 75 walks.

Oklahoma State (41-20)

The Cowboys are making their 20th trip to Omaha, but first since 1999. They finished second in the Big 12 during the regular season. The Cowboys scored 26 runs in winning two of three against TCU in Stillwater in April. Thomas Hatch (8-2, 2.04 ERA) and Elliott Jensen (9-2, 3.27) give Oklahoma State one of the best one-two starting pitching combos in Omaha.

UC Santa Barbara (42-18-1)

The Gauchos reached their first College World Series by defeating No. 2 national seed Louisville 4-3 on a walk-off grand slam by Sam Cohen. RHP Shane Bieber is 12-3 with a 2.84 ERA and 103 strikeouts. First baseman Austin Bush, a 6-6, 265-pound sophomore, had 11 home runs. The rest of the Gauchos had 21.

Bracket 2

Coastal Carolina (49-16)

A walk-off double sent the Chanticleers past LSU and into their first College World Series. RHPs Andrew Beckwith and Alex Cunningham are a combined 21-4. The Chants have 94 home runs this season, 40 more than any other CWS team. Four players — Zach Remillard, Connor Owings, Michael Paez and G.K. Young — have at least 15 apiece.

Florida (52-14)

The No. 1 national seed Gators have made 10 College World Series appearances but are seeking their first championship. Oakland A’s draft pick RHP Logan Shore is 12-0 with a 2.24 ERA and has won 16 straight dating to 2015. His eight-inning, two-hitter in the Super Regional helped the Gators force a Game 3 against Florida State. Left-hander A.J. Puk is just 2-3 in 16 starts but has 101 strikeouts in 73  2/3 innings. The 6-7 junior was drafted No. 6 overall by Oakland last week.

Texas Tech (46-18)

The Big 12 regular-season champs won two of three from TCU at Lupton Stadium in April. The Red Raiders, the No. 5 national seed, are making their second CWS appearance. In 2014, they were eliminated in two games, losing the first to TCU. Freshman right-hander Davis Martin limited TCU to two runs — one earned — in 6  1/3 innings in April. Outfielder Tanner Gardner leads the team in hitting (.382), hits (86), triples (6) and on-base percentage (.485).

TCU (47-16)

The Horned Frogs have won 14 of 16 as they head to their third consecutive trip to Omaha. Freshman Luken Baker (.379, 9 HRs) leads the Big 12’s No. 1 offense. Brian Howard allowed two hits over seven innings as TCU beat No. 4 national seed Texas A&M in Game 3 of an NCAA Super Regional, the second straight season the Frogs defeated the Aggies to advance to the CWS.

CWS schedule

(At Omaha, Neb.)

Note: Double elimination

Saturday’s games

Game 1 — Oklahoma State (41-20) vs. UC Santa Barbara (42-18-1), 2 p.m., ESPN2

Game 2 — Miami (50-12) vs. Arizona (44-21), 7 p.m., ESPN2

Sunday’s games

Game 3 — Texas Tech (46-18) vs. TCU (47-16), 2 p.m., ESPNU

Game 4 — Florida (52-14) vs. Coastal Carolina (49-16), 7 p.m., ESPN2

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram