TCU

Baker, pitching impress Schlossnagle in TCU scrimmage

TCU coach Jim Schlossnagle talks to his players during practice ahead of their opening game at the College World Series last season. The Horned Frogs, who went 2-2 in Omaha to finish a 51-15 season, scrimmaged Abilene Christian on Sunday to get a head start on 2016.
TCU coach Jim Schlossnagle talks to his players during practice ahead of their opening game at the College World Series last season. The Horned Frogs, who went 2-2 in Omaha to finish a 51-15 season, scrimmaged Abilene Christian on Sunday to get a head start on 2016. AP

Luken Baker appeared as advertised in his first action for TCU, striking out a batter in a perfect inning, driving in two while hitting fourth in the order and playing first base in a scrimmage Sunday against Abilene Christian.

“He had a pretty clean inning, had a couple big hits, played well at first base — about the way we all thought he was going to,” coach Jim Schlossnagle said.

Baker, a freshman from Conroe Oak Ridge, was the Horned Frogs’ top recruit. He was 12-0 with a 1.08 ERA, hit .448 with eight home runs as a senior and was named the Gatorade national player of the year. Schlossnagle plans to use him at first base and designated hitter when he is not pitching.

Sophomore designated hitter Connor Wanhanen will also play some first base for TCU, which is breaking in an entirely new infield after losing five position players, along with three starting pitchers, from its 51-15 College World Series team of a year ago.

Senior infielder Elliott Barzilli played some second base, junior college transfers Ryan Merrill and Mason Hesse played shortstop, and junior-college transfer Cam Warner played third.

TCU beat ACU 13-4 in the 12-inning scrimmage. Twelve TCU pitchers gave up six hits, four walks and struck out 15.

Mitchell Traver, the lone returning starting pitcher, threw a perfect inning. Relievers Brian Trieglaff and Preston Guillory also had shutout innings.

“Traver really had a good changeup going,” Schlossnagle said. “It’s one of the things he’s working on, a more consistent third pitch. Trieglaff threw well. Guillory threw well. The pitching was impressive. You just want to see guys command the ball and throw strikes. I was really proud of our young pitchers.”

Freshman outfielder Ryan Johnson had three doubles. He and another freshman, switch-hitting outfielder Josh Watson of Arlington Martin, drove in three runs.

“Ryan Johnson and Josh Watson, for their first Division I competition, did great,” Schlossnagle said. “They are going to figure in. Those guys are going to play a lot, whether it be in the outfield or DHing or giving somebody a rest. It just depends.”

Schedule set

The 2016 schedule was released, with the season opening on Feb. 19 to start a three-game series against Loyola Marymount.

The Big 12 schedule starts March 18 with a three-game home series against West Virginia.

The conference tournament begins May 25 in Oklahoma City.

Carlos Mendez: 817-390-7760, @calexmendez

2016 TCU baseball schedule

Day, Date*Opponent*Time

Friday, Feb.19*Loyola Marymount, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 20*Loyola Marymount, Lupton Stadium, 2 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 21*Loyola Marymount, Lupton Stadium, 1 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 23*Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 26*vs. La.-Lafeyette (at Minute Maid Park), Houston, 3:30 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 27*vs. Rice (at Minute Maid Park) Houston, 7 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 28*Houston (at Minute Maid Park) Houston, 2:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 1*UT Rio Grande Valley, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, March 4*Gonzaga, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, March 5*Gonzaga, Lupton Stadium, 2 p.m.

Sunday, March 6*Gonzaga, Lupton Stadium, 1 p.m.

Tuesday, March 8*UT Arlington, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, March 11*USC, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, March 12*USC, Lupton Stadium, 2 p.m.

Sunday, March 13*USC, Lupton Stadium, 1 p.m.

Tuesday, March 15*at Rice, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, March 18*West Virginia, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, March 19*West Virginia, Lupton Stadium, 2 p.m.

Sunday, March 20*West Virginia*, Lupton Stadium, 1 p.m.

Monday, March 21*Abilene Christian, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, March 24*at Texas, 6 p.m.

Friday, March 25*at Texas, 6 p.m.

Saturday, March 26*at Texas, TBA

Tuesday, March 29*at UT Arlington, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, April 1*at Wichita State, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 2*at Wichita State, 2 p.m.

Sunday, April 3*at Wichita State, 1 p.m.

Tuesday, April 5*UT Arlington, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Wednesday, April 6*Louisiana-Monroe, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, April 8*at Kansas, 6 p.m.

Saturday, April 9*at Kansas, 2 p.m.

Sunday, April 10*at Kansas, 1 p.m.

Tuesday, April 12*Dallas Baptist, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, April 15*Oklahoma, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 16*Oklahoma, Lupton Stadium, 4 p.m.

Sunday, April 17*Oklahoma, Lupton Stadium, 1 p.m.

Tuesday, April 19*at Abilene Christian, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, April 22*at Oklahoma State, 6 p.m.

Saturday, April 23*at Oklahoma State, 3 p.m.

Sunday, April 24*at Oklahoma State, 1 p.m.

Tuesday, April 26*at Dallas Baptist, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, April 29*Texas Tech, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 30*Texas Tech, Lupton Stadium, 4 p.m.

Sunday, May 1*Texas Tech, Lupton Stadium, 1 p.m.

Friday, May 6*at Penn State, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 7*at Penn State, 2 p.m.

Sunday, May 8*at Penn State, 1 p.m.

Tuesday, May 10*Stephen F. Austin, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, May 13*at Baylor, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 14*at Baylor, 3 p.m.

Sunday, May 15*at Baylor, 1 p.m.

Tuesday, May 17*Incarnate Word, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 19*Kansas State, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, May 20*Kansas State, Lupton Stadium, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 21*Kansas State, Lupton Stadium, 4 p.m.

Wed.-Sun. May 25-29*Big 12 Tournament, Oklahoma City

  Comments