College Sports

R.C. Slocum winner of Amos Alonzo Stagg Award

Former Texas A&M football coach R.C. Slocum has been selected as winner of the 2014 Amos Alonzo Stagg Award, to be presented Jan. 14 at the American Football Coaches Association convention in Indianapolis. AFCA officials announced the selection Wednesday. Slocum, 69, retired after the 2002 as the winningest coach in A&M history with an overall record of 123-47-2. Slocum’s teams won three Southwest Conference titles, a 1998 Big 12 title and made it to 10 bowl games. The Stagg award honors a former coach “whose services have been outstanding in the advancement of the best interests of football.”

Slocum said it was “humbling to be recognized with all the great coaches who have won the award before me,” a list that includes Darrell Royal (2010), Bobby Bowden (2011), Grant Teaff (2006), Tom Osborne (2000), Paul “Bear” Bryant (1983) and others.