College Sports

College Football Playoff selection team sets term limits

Members of the inaugural College Football Playoff team selection committee, which will set the four-team playoff bracket for the 2014 postseason, have finalized the term limits they will serve before new members rotate on and off the committee on an annual basis. Administrators announced Tuesday that four members will leave the committee in February 2016 (Mike Gould, Pat Haden, Tom Osborne, Mike Tranghese); four members will depart in February, 2017 (Barry Alvarez, Oliver Luck, Archie Manning, Condoleezza Rice) and five members will depart in February, 2018 (Tom Jernstedt, Jeff Long, Dan Radakovich, Steve Wieberg, Tyrone Willingham).

No timetable was announced for identifying replacement candidates. The 13-member committee will seed the playoff teams that will determine the participants in the first college championship game of the playoff era, Jan. 12, 2015, at AT&T Stadium in Arlington.