Early voting underway for May 9 election

Early voting in the May 9 local elections started Monday and continues through May 5.

The Star-Telegram Editorial Board has studied the races and issues on the ballot and has published recommendations for voters to consider. We’re confident that voters can make up their own minds. Here’s a recap of our recommendations:

Arlington City Council

Mayor: Robert Cluck

District 3: Robert Rivera

District 4: Kathryn


District 5: Lana Wolff

District 8: Michael


Arlington proposition

Against banning red-light cameras

Arlington school board

Place 1: Gloria Peña

Place 2: Peter Baron

Place 3: Aaron Reich


Mayor: Jim Griffin

Colleyville City Council

Place 5: Nancy Coplen

Place 6: Mike Taylor

Colleyville special election

Against Glade Road proposition

Fort Worth City Council

District 2: Sal Espino

District 4: Danny Scarth

District 5: Gyna Bivens

District 7: Dennis


District 8: Kelly Allen Gray

Fort Worth school board

District 2: Tobi Jackson

District 5: Judy Needham

District 6: Ann Sutherland


Mayor: Laura Hill

Tarrant County College board

District 1: Teresa Ayala

Tarrant Regional Water District board

Jim Lane, Marty Leonard