Van Cliburn

Twelve pianists advance to Cliburn Amateur semifinals

Cliburn Foundation

Twelve pianists have advanced to the semifinal round of the Cliburn Amateur competition. The announcement came late Wednesday night after 30 competitors played quarterfinal-round recitals. All semifinalists will perform one 25- to 28-minute recital Thursday in concerts at 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. at Van Cliburn Recital Hall. Six finalists will be named at the conclusion of play. The semifinalists are:

Gregory Knight, U.S.

Deirbhile Brennan, Ireland

Michael Slavin, U.S.

Lana C. Marina, U.S.

Yasuo Kurimoto, Japan

Sean Sutherland, St. Vincent and the Grenadines/Canada

Xavier Aymonod, France

Thomas Yu, Canada

Ken Iisaka, Japan/Canada

Matthias Fischer, Germany

Gorden Cheng, U.S.

Jeanne Backofen Craig, U.S.

Related stories from Fort Worth Star Telegram