Weatherford Sports

Poolville roper qualifies for national HS rodeo

Poolville's Skylar Southerland has qualified for the National High School Finals Rodeo. She did so by finishing second in the recent Texas High School Finals Rodeo in breakaway roping.

Southerland scored 42 points, narrowly behind winner Taylor Lawson of New Waverly with 44.

Barely missing a berth at nationals was Weatherford bareback rider Leighton Berry. He was fifth with 36.5 points, just 1.5 out of the final qualifying spot.

The NHSFR is July 17-23 in Gillette, Wyoming.


Not only are there talented baseball and softball players throughout the area, it was proven again this year that there are also many smart players.

Area coaches announced that no less than 58 players received academic all-district recognition in their respective leagues. This included 25 baseball and 33 softball players.

Brock and Weatherford each had 11 baseball athletes honored. Weatherford led softball honors with 10, while Peaster had eight.

Baseball honors:

▪ Brock - Jansen Ivie, Gabe Mendoza, Christian Stites, Seth Boleman, Travis Albritton, Trent Patino, Jase Lopez, Joseph Gossett, Jordan Andrae, Doc Bruner, Jackson Hardison.

▪ Weatherford - Jonathan Bateman, Bryce Burks, Preston Edison, Joshua Evans, Jackson Funderburk, Spencer Hynes, Alejandro Mirles Rojas, Joseph Monaco, Michael Nowak, Kade Spooner, Mason Zamarron.

▪ Peaster - Parker Grudt, Matthew Grimes, Evan Rodgers.

Softball honors:

▪ Weatherford - Grace Davis, Lindsey Franklin, Kayla Gardner, Sierra Hill, Karley Horton, Sydney Johns, Marisa Lopez, Taylor Pool, Erin Riney, Allison Williams.

▪ Peaster - Baylee Chapman, Hannah Bird, Julia Garcia, Taci Tatum, Makaila McKinzie, Bailey McKinzie, Allie Arnold, Emily Hungerford.

▪ Millsap - Kellie Autrey, Hailey Allen, Paxton Bean, Paige Lionberger, Jayde Burkett, Jacie Drost, Krysten Ludwick.

▪ Brock - Cara Tolar, Blakney Campbell, Lauren Lightfoot, Ashtyn McAda, Anarenee Beyer, Bailey Wagner.

▪ Aledo - Hallie Smith, Kadyn Kirkpatrick.


Seventeen members of the Mach I Track Club qualified for the USA Track and Field Region 12 Championships in Odessa July 9-12. They did so by finishing in the top eight in the recent Association Meet in Lancaster.

Sadie Tharp qualified in three events, competing in the Girls 13-14 division.

She won the 3,000-meter run with a time of 11 minutes, 25 seconds, along with the 1,500 in 5:10. She was also fifth in the 800.

Rylan Shaffer also qualified in three events in the Boys 13-14 division. He was fifth in the 1,500, seventh in the 3,000, and ran a leg of the first-place 400 relay that posted a time of 10:27.74 (with Michael Dinkins, Brandon Torres and Liam Kelly).

Also qualifying were:

Michael Dinkins, Boys 13-14 - sixth in 3,000.

Mayden Mitchell, Girls 8-Under - second in 800, second in 1,500.

Micah Neal, Girls 8-Under - third in 800, sixth in 400.

Gavin Mowery, Boys 13-14 - fifth in 800.

C.J. Van Slyne, Boys 15-16 - eighth in 800.

Keegan Jackson, Boys 13-14 - fourth in 1,500, seventh in 800.

Jamie Gray, Boys 9-10 - seventh in long jump.

Jett Mortensen, Boys 8-Under - second in 1,500, eighth in long jump.

Lizzie Mowery, Girls 9-10 - sixth in 1,500.

McKenzie Holman, Girls 9-10 - seventh in 1,500.

Banning Smith, Boys 11-12 - fifth in 1,500.

Michael Goff, Boys 11-12 - seventh 1,500.

Micah Moore, Boys 13-14 - sixth in 1,500.

Qualifiers from the region will advance to the USATF Junior Olympics July 24-31 in Sacramento.


The Weatherford Wild swim team competed for the second time this season recently, having a good outing at the Burleson Meet. The team won 35 gold medals (21 females, 14 males), 21 silver (14 females, 7 males) and 20 bronze (14 females, 6 males).

Addison Greenfield and Hannah Farber led the Wild with three gold medals each. Greenfield competed in the Girls 9-10 division and Farber in the Girls 13-14 category.

Lucas Skalak (6-Under) and John Rossum (15-17) led the male swimmers, each winning two gold and a silver medal. Jackson Skalak (8-Under) and Matthew Merrifield (9-10) each won two golds.

Also winning gold medals for the females were Reese Haggard (8-Under), Harper Smith (9-10), Jamie Lehmer (11-12), Kennedy Richards (13-14), Sydni Kellan (6-Under), Aislyn Wright (11-12, 2 gold, 1 silver), Abby Morrison (11-12, 2 gold, 1 silver), Olivia Lawler (15-17, 1 gold, 1 silver, 1 bronze), Christina Kuschel (8-Under), Chloe O'Grady (15-17), the 8-Under 100-yard freestyle relay and the 11-12 200 free relay.

Also winning gold for the males were the 9-10 100 medley relay, Aaron Greenfield (11-12), Kaleb Oestreich (9-10), Micah Calderon (15-17), Chandler Buchfink (15-17) and the 9-10 100 free relay.