Weatherford Sports

Kangaroos dominate 4-6A baseball superlatives

Special to the Weatherford Star-Telegram

The Weatherford Kangaroos won one of the tightest district baseball races imaginable this season, taking the top spot in District 4-6A. As the season entered the final couple of games, no less than seven of the eight teams had a chance to reach the postseason.

In the All-District 4-6A honors handed out by the league's coaches, the Kangaroos (24-11) also led in superlative awards. Junior Preston Edison was named the Offensive MVP, senior Spencer Hynes was chosen Pitcher of the Year, and Blake Burrows was selected Sophomore of the Year.

Also, Jason Lee was named Head Coach of the Year. In his first season he led the Kangaroos to the third round of the playoffs for the first time since 2009.

Edison led the Kangaroos with a .416 batting average, four triples and 18 walks. He also drove in 23 runs and hit six doubles.

Hynes was 6-4 with a 1.58 earned run average and 96 strikeouts in 71 innings. Burrows batted .409.

In District 8-5A, Aledo senior Nick Cheema was named the Defensive Player of the Year and senior Cody Bradford (6-4, 0.67 ERA) was chosen Pitcher of the Year. The Bearcats (22-10) reached the second round of the postseason.

Region II finalist and league champion Brock (27-9) led the All-District 11-3A superlatives. Seniors Seth Boleman and Titus Gossett are the MVP and Co-Pitcher of the Year (with Peaster sophomore Matthew Grimes), respectively. Also, the Brock coaches were named Staff of the Year, led by first-year coach Hart Herring, as they guided the Eagles to their best season since 2012.

Also from Peaster, sophomore Evan Hafley is the 11-3A Offensive MVP.

Brock and Peaster met in the third round of the postseason, with the Eagles winning a pair of one-run games to advance. It was Peaster's best season since 2009.

All-District 4-6A, Weatherford honors: Preston Edison, jr., Offensive MVP; Spencer Hynes, sr., Pitcher of the Year; Blake Burrows, Sophomore of the Year; Parker Bateman, P, sr., first team; Mason Zamarron, DH, jr., first team; Nick Rodriguez, SS, jr., second team; Garrett Mendoza, sr., honorable mention; Mike Nowak, sr., honorable mention; DeMarcus Gratts, jr., honorable mention; Joey Monaco, sr., honorable mention; Bryce Burks, sr., honorable mention.

All-District 8-5A, Aledo honors: Nick Cheema, sr., Defensive MVP; Cody Bradford, sr., Pitcher of the Year; Kannon Brown, P, jr., first team; Griffin Benson, 1B, sr., first team; Rhett Anderson, OF, sr., first team; Jacob Ashkinos, P, sr., second team; Calloway Shands, 2B, jr., second team; Hunter Rosson, SS, soph., second team; Cameron Caldwell, OF, jr., second team.

All-District 11-3A

Brock: Seth Boleman, sr., MVP; Titus Gossett, P, sr., Co-Pitcher of the Year; Coaching Staff of the Year; Gabe Mendoza, P, sr., first team; Doc Bruner, C, jr., first team; Travis Albritton, OF, sr., first team; Trent Patino, OF, jr., first team; Jansen Ivie, DH, jr., first team; Christian Stites, IF, jr., second team; Bryce Nye, OF, jr., second team; Jordan Andrae, sr., honorable mention.

Peaster: Evan Hafley, soph., Offensive MVP; Matthew Grimes, soph., Co-Pitcher of the Year; Parker Grudt, C, sr., first team; Devin Alvey, IF, soph., first team; Kelton Shook, IF, soph., first team; Colton Arnold, OF, jr., second team; Ryan Shult, jr., honorable mention; Evan Rodgers, sr., honorable mention.

Millsap: Tyler Burchette, P, jr., second team; Chase Buchanan, IF, jr., second team; Spencer Auld, DH, soph., second team; Spencer Mitchell, util, jr., second team; Connor Franklin, honorable mention; Nick Lucia, honorable mention; Hunter Maass, honorable mention; Matthew Bradshaw, honorable mention.


The Weatherford Wild (formerly the Water Roos) began the 2016 summer swim season in the Bedford Surf Meet, hosted by Southlake Natatorium, recently.

The Wild was led by Matthew Williams with three gold medals in the 25-39 Men category. Ryan Richards won two gold and a silver in the 15-17 Boys division, and Russell Richards captured two gold in the 40-Over Men.

Others winning multiple gold and/or silver medals included Noah Farber (9-10 Boys), three silver; Justin Lemmons (13-14 Boys), two silver; Noah Enlow (11-12 Boys), two silver; and Chandler Bunchfish (15-17 Boys), two silver.

The girls were led by Kimberly Lawler (40-Over Women) with two gold. Aislyn Wright (11-12 Girls) won a gold with two silver.

Also winning multiple gold and/or silver medals for the girls were Christina Kruschel (8-Under Girls), two silver; Hannah Farber (13-14 Girls), one gold, one silver; and Abby Morrison (11-12 Girls), one gold, one silver.


The Texas Bullets edged the Dallas Trojans 27-24 in the second round of the Minor Professional Football League playoffs at Kangaroo Stadium. It was their second three-point win over the Trojans this season, winning 10-7 earlier in the year.

The Bullets (11-0-1) won for an 11th straight game. They were playing the Midland Drillers in the American Conference championship game. That winner will advance to the championship game Saturday at 7 p.m. Kangaroo Stadium.


In a contest held recently by to determine the top 15 high school football uniforms in Texas, the Brock Eagles came in second. The Belton Tigers had the top-rated uniform in Texas.

The website said of Brock's uniforms, "You can’t go wrong with that all blue combo and that sleek looking helmet with the eagle wings."

The Eagles won the Class 3A Division I state championship in 2015 with a 16-0 record, only their second season to be eligible for the title. In two seasons of University Interscholastic League eligibility, the Eagles are 28-2.

Behind Belton and Brock in the rankings were 3. Hughes Springs Mustangs, 4. DeSoto Eagles, 5. Refugio Bobcats, 6. Cedar Park Timberwolves, 7. Friendswood Mustangs, 8. Allen Eagles, 9. Lake Travis Cavaliers, 10. Odessa Permian Panthers, 11. Fort Worth South Hills Scorpions, 12. 12. North Crowley Panthers, 13. Waxahachie Indians, 14. Katy Tigers, 15. Port Neches-Groves Indians.


Weatherford College will host the annual Jeff Lightfoot Baseball Camp Monday through Wednesday (June 27-29). The camp is for ages 6-12 and will be from 8:30-11:30 a.m. each day.

The camp will be conducted by Coyotes head coach Jeff Lightfoot, who has 500-plus wins at the college level. He will be assisted by pitching coach and Weatherford native Chad Massengale, who brings a wealth of experience from all levels of college baseball including NJCAA and NCAA Division I baseball as a player and a coach. Also, assistant coach Chris McClendon was a standout at the NJCAA level and at the University of Kentucky. The remainder of the staff will be made up of former and current Coyote baseball players with College and Pro experience.

Cost is $125. Registration forms are available at under the athletics and baseball links.