Weatherford Sports

Brock's Tolar ends career with top 11-3A honor

As a sophomore move-in from Comfort, Cara Tolar almost didn't make the roster of the Brock Lady Eagles.

Now, she ends her career as the most valuable player in District 11-3A after leading the Lady Eagles (37-4) to the state semifinals and their best season since 2010.

Tolar led the Lady Eagles in a variety of offensive categories, including batting average (.470), home runs (4), singles (46), and runs batted in (41, tied with junior Lauren Lightfoot). She was also 20-3 as a pitcher with a 0.36 earned run average, 163 strikeouts and 36 walks in 136 innings.

"Our district was deep with many talented players," said Brock's Ryan Starnes, who was the district's Co-Coach of the Year with Peaster's Matt Chapman. "As far as Cara, when she moved here from Comfort her sophomore year, I thought she wasn't going to make it. We joke about it now but back then she was coming from a place that didn't work at all like we do here. Everyone could tell she had a ton of potential.

"To see her evolution into a kid that was one of the strongest we had in the weight room, one that would stay after and put in extra time, and one that will be getting part of school paid for at Arkansas Tech to play softball, that evolution was very fun to witness."

Elsewhere, Chapman led Peaster to its best softball season in school history. After reaching the playoffs for the first time since 1997, the Lady Greyhounds (23-8) advanced to the 3A Region II finals before falling in two games to Brock.

Peaster also had the Pitcher of the Year in 11-3A, freshman Rylie Melton.

Weatherford (14-15) had three superlative honors in District 4-6A after returning to the playoffs. Freshman Karley Horton was named Co-Newcomer of the Year, and sophomores Grace Davis and Shelby Kennedy were chosen Defensive Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year, respectively.

"I was pleased with our superlative and all-district selections. It showed the type of team we had," Weatherford coach Ty Comstock said.

Aledo junior Hannah Andrews was selected District 8-5A Co-Newcomer of the Year, helping the Ladycats (21-12) to the third round of the postseason.

All-District 11-3A:

Brock - Cara Tolar, sr., Most Valuable Player; Ryan Starnes, Co-Coach Of The Year; Anarenee Beyer, soph., first team; Mattye Tyler, soph., first team; Blakney Campbell, sr., first team; Lauren Lightfoot, jr., second team; Sydney Snow, jr., second team; Bailey Ray, jr., honorable mention; Ashtyn McAda, jr., honorable mention; Bailey Wagner, soph., honorable mention.

Peaster - Rylie Melton, fr., Pitcher of the Year; Matt Chapman, Co-Coach of the Year; Baylee Chapman, jr., first team; Katie Ruddy, fr., first team; Allie Arnold, jr., first team; Makaila McKinzie, sr., second team; Bailey McKinzie, sr., second team; Katie Mitchell, jr., second team; Julia Garcia, jr., second team; Emily Hungerford, jr., honorable mention; Taci Tatum, fr., honorable mention.

Millsap - Paige Lionberger, jr., second team; Kellie Autrey, sr., second team; Hailey Allen, fr., second team; Adison Lister, soph., second team; Brittany Rogers, soph., honorable mention; Natalie Ruiz, fr., honorable mention.

All-District 4-6A, Weatherford honors: Karley Horton, fr., Co-Newcomer of the Year; Grace Davis, soph., Defensive Player of the Year; Shelby Kennedy, soph., Offensive Player of the Year; Erin Riney, sr., first team; Taylor Pool, sr., first team; Kayla Gardner, sr., first team; Lindsey Franklin, fr., second team; Sydney Johns, sr., honorable mention; Allison Williams, jr., honorable mention.

All-District 8-5A, Aledo honors: Hannah Andrews, jr., Co-Newcomer of the Year; Kadyn Kirkpatrick, sr., first team; Landri Mays, sr., first team; Lindsey McElroy, soph, first team; Brynn Helman, jr., second team; Bailee Whitener, soph., second team; Megan Reynolds, soph., second team.


Weatherford Christian School will host the ShawAttack Basketball Camp Monday (June 20) through June 23 for incoming players in grades 6-12. The camp will be held at WCS, 2300 Ranger Hwy., from 8 a.m.-11:45 a.m. each day.

The camp will be conducted by former former professional basketball player Demetric Shaw, TCU Standout Stephanie Faulkner, FIBA International Star Ty Thomas, along with Texas Christian Athletic Fellowship state champion Coach Leslie Chalmers and more.

Special guest speakers include former San Antonio Spurs player and European MVP Charles "Spider" Smith, Kansas State coach and former TCU and Dunbar basketball standout Ebony Gilliam.

Cost of the camp is $80, which includes an official camp t-shirt, camp awards,

certificate of recognition and a chance to win a multiple prizes, even hoop gear. WCS athletes receive a $10 discount.

To register, visit or pre-register by email sent to


The Texas Bullets made short work of the Garland Aztecs in the opening round of the Minor Professional Football League, winning 57-18 at Kangaroo Stadium recently. That victory, the 10th straight for the Bullets (10-0-1), advanced them to the second round of the American Conference Playoffs against the Dallas Trojans.

The American Conference champion will face the Patriot Conference champion in the league championship June 25 at Kangaroo Stadium.


The Mach I Track Club ran at Lancaster and brought home four gold medals and a bronze.

Sadie Tharp led Mach I with gold medals in the 3,000-meter and 1,500 runs among the 13-14 Girls age group. She clocked an 11:17 in the first and 5:10 in the latter.

Micah Neal won gold in the 800 among 8-Under Girls, posting a 3:15, and Mayden Mitchell's time of 6:39 was tops among 8-Under Boys in the event. Ryan Shaffer placed third in the 3,000 among 13-14 Boys, clocking 11:02.