Weatherford Sports

Area volleyball, tennis players honored

It was a great season in volleyball for area teams, led by the Peaster Lady Greyhounds. Coach Autumn Threet's team stayed atop the Class 3A state rankings all season and advanced to the state semifinals, finishing with a 46-2 record.

Three members of the Lady Greyhounds have been selected for the Texas Girls Coaches Association Class 3A All-State Team, junior McKenna Ballard and sophomores Taryn Cast and Kennedy Warren. Also chosen for the 5A team was Aledo junior Madison Goings.

From the area private schools, Willow Park Trinity's Erin Kalbfleisch, Brianna Ludwig, Hannah Floyd and Emma Kalbfleisch were named Texas Christian Athletic Fellowship Division I All-State. Weatherford Christian's Kaitlyn Fell and Hannah Wheeling were chosen TCAF Division II All-State.

"Probably the most exciting thing looking into next season is that I return pretty much everyone. We hope to pick up right where we left off," said Threet.

"I am planning a pretty tough (predistrict) schedule to include teams such as Aledo, Boswell and the Pearland Tournament. We have seasoned kids coming back, so I'm going to push them for excellence.

"We got a taste of the state tournament and next year we want to win it all."

Goings helped the Ladycats reach the second round of the playoffs after winning District 8-5A with a 13-1 record (38-12 overall). It is the 20th consecutive season in which her mother, coach Kathy Goings, has led the Ladycats to the playoffs and the 19th time they've won or shared a district title in that span.

The Brock Lady Eagles (32-11) finished second to Peaster in 11-3A and reached the second round, Millsap (23-15) was fourth and reached the playoffs for the first time since 2001, Poolville (27-13) placed second in 9-2A and advanced to the second round of the postseason, Weatherford Christian (10-4) made the second round of the Texas Christian Athletic Fellowship Division II playoffs, and Willow Park Trinity (25-4) finished as state runners-up in TCAF Division I.

And though the Weatherford Lady Kangaroos (24-13) did not reach the playoffs, they came close and had their best season in several years under coach Natalie Gonzales.

"This is a great achievement for the district we are in. I am so proud of my girls and the challenges they overcame this season," said Gonzales. "They are laying the foundation for success in next year's season and many more. They can only go up from here, and next year I think we will be a force."


As has become commonplace, the area will be well-represented next summer at the Texas Girls Coaches Association Volleyball All-Star Matches.

Peaster's McKenna Ballard has been chosen to play for the Class 1A-4A Red Team. Ironically, her coach, Autumn Threet, will be an assistant for the 1A-4A Blue Team.

Aledo's Madison Goings has been selected to play for the Class 5A-6A Red Team.


MVP - Kennedy Warren, Peaster.

Co-MVP Blockers - Taryn Cast, Peaster; Sabra Washington, Brock.

Co-MVP Setters - McKenna Ballard, Peaster; Shannon Watkins, Brock.

Defensive MVP - Sydney Herbel, Millsap.

Newcomer of the Year - Madison Johns, Millsap.

Coach of the Year - Autumn Threet, Peaster.

First Team

Ciarra Wright, Peaster; Baylee Hull, Peaster; Rachael Gustafson, Peaster; Parker King, Brock; Entani Morris, Brock; Ashley Gooch, Brock; Hannah Hobson, Millsap; Makenzie Schnabel, Millsap.

Second Team

Addy Bratcher, Peaster; Isabell Guevara, Peaster; Morgan Fadden, Peaster; Jordan Craig, Brock; Brianna Gray, Millsap; Ashley Lazenby, Millsap.

Honorable mention

Gracie Cooper, Brock; Daelyn Sessum, Brock; Anna Walker, Millsap; Adison Lister, Millsap; Kylie Nelms, Millsap.


Aledo honors

Offensive Player Of The Year - Madison Goings

Setter of the Year - Erin Weiss

Coach of the Year - Kathy Goings

First team

Allegra Rivas, Amanda Norman

Second Team

Sarah Haeussler


Weatherford honors

Setter of the Year - Kaitlyn Rogers

First Team

Maddie Dorris, London Austin-Roark

Second Team

Londyn Gray, Carissa Barnes

Honorable mention

Gabbie Huggins, Erin Riney


Poolville honors

Defensive MVP - Tracy Johnson

First Team

Brenlee Jones, Billie Roberts


Willow Park Trinity honors

MVP - Erin Kalbfleisch

Coach of the Year - Jessica Sims

To see more honors go to: