Weatherford Sports

Weatherford FFA Members Attend Texas FFA Convention in Fort Worth

Members from the Weatherford FFA chapter attended the 86th annual Texas FFA State Convention July 14-18 in Fort Worth.

Weatherford FFA members who attended the convention and served as voting delegates are: Bianca Peck, Grace Hardey, Jessica White, Dakota Herbin, Paulie Cocke, Peyton Thomas, Morgan Kieffer, Mary Smith, Brooke Chilcutt, Rachel Spencer, Waylon Widler and Colton Dees. Graduates who attended through the week were Emily Albert and Shelby Wulfjen.

Ten members of the Weatherford FFA Chapter were awarded the Lone Star FFA Degree. The Lone Star FFA Degree is the highest degree bestowed by the Texas FFA. Recipients were: Rachael Spencer, Morgan Kieffer, Paulie Cocke, Brooke Chilcutt, Christin Gasca, Shelby Wulfjen, Alex Adair, Alex Hammett, Clayton Adair and Kaleigh Parker. The Lone Star FFA Degree recognizes FFA members who have received the Chapter degree, been active FFA members for at least two years, complete at least four semesters of agricultural science at or above the ninth grade level, maintain a supervised agricultural experience (SAE) program, demonstrate their leadership skills and show a commitment to the FFA through involvement at the chapter level and above.

Brooke Chilcutt has been named the Star Lone Star in Production. Star award winners were recognized at the 86th annual Texas FFA State Convention. The state award winner in each category will receive a $1,000 Dina Wallrath-Robertson Memorial Star Scholarship made available by the Texas FFA Foundation. FFA Stars are chosen based on the most outstanding Supervised Agriculture Experience Program within their respective degree and category.

Chilcutt was also awarded the Specialty Crop Production Proficiency Award and will advance for judging and interviews at the National FFA Convention this fall to be held in Louisville. Students’ SAEs may be entrepreneurial enterprises, employment experiences or research projects.

The 86th annual Texas FFA State Convention recorded more than 11,000 members and guests. Members of the agricultural youth leadership organization spent the week attending leadership workshops, participating in events and activities, being recognized for their achievements and serving as the legislative body for the Texas FFA Association.

Members heard from Sen. Dan Patrick, as well as motivational speakers Gabe Salazar and Dr. Lowell Catlett. The Casey Donahew Band, Texas country music artists, also performed exclusively for FFA members.

The Texas FFA has evolved from an organization focusing primarily on production agriculture, to a broader-based encompassing organization that addresses the needs and interests of students in urban and suburban schools in addition to the rural communities from which FFA rose in 1929. The organization is dedicated to making a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.

The Texas FFA is the nation’s largest state FFA association with a membership of more than 104,000 members and 1,045 local FFA chapters. FFA gives students the opportunity to apply practical classroom knowledge to real world experiences through local, state and national competitions.

For more information about the Texas FFA visit