Weatherford News

Election filings from around Parker County

Now comes the running of the races.

Well, in a couple of elections. In eight of the 10 upcoming elections in Parker County (outside of Weatherford), all of the candidates are running unopposed for their respective positions.

Only in Aledo will there be challenges. Both the Aledo ISD Board of Trustees and Aledo City Council will have contested races - and in both places, it will not include some of the incumbents.

The Aledo School Board features incumbent Jay Stringer running unopposed for re-election in Place 1. However, Places 2 and 3 have plenty of competition.

Place 2 incumbent Johnny Campbell did not file for re-election. Vying for his soon-to-be-open seat are Jennifer Loftin, Hans Dube and Cindi Neverdousky.

Place 3 incumbent Dr. David Tillman is seeking re-election. He will be challenged by David Denman and Vernon Anderson.

The Aledo City Council has incumbent Kerby Smith running against Martin Siegmund for Place 1. Place 5 will have Paul Johns and George McGee battling for the seat to be left vacant when incumbent Matt Casey steps aside as he did not file for re-election.

Robert Wood running unopposed for Place 3. Incumbent William McLeroy did not file for re-election.

Elections are May 9. Early voting runs from April 27 through May 5. The deadline to register to vote is April 9.

Here's a look at the rest of the races around Parker County, all unopposed:

Annetta City Council

All incumbents

Mayor - Bruce Pinkard.

Place 3 - Chuck Sheridan.

Place 5 - Kent Stasey.

Annetta North City Council

All incumbents

Mayor - Robert Schmidt.

Place 3 - Stonie Hamilton.

Place 5 - Kenneth Hall.

Annetta South City Council

All incumbents

Mayor - Gerhard Kleinschmidt.

Place 3 - Ellen Woodward.

Place 5 - Bill Gordon.

Hudson Oaks City Council

All incumbents

Place 2 - Brian Lixey.

Place 4 - Tom Fitzpatrick.

Place 5 - Marc Povero.

Millsap City Council

At-large seats, all incumbents: Michael Kinman, Chris Scofield, Yolanda Malloux.

Millsap School Board

At-large seats: Dr. Dean Herbel, president (incumbent). Another seat to be appointed as incumbent Paul Evans did not file for re-election.

Peaster School Board

All incumbents, at-large seats: Clayton Hull, Michael Gentry, Landon Smith.

Willow Park City Council

All incumbents

Mayor - Richard Neverdousky.

Place 1 - Brian Thornburg.

Place 2 - Gene Martin. 

Races in Weatherford

▪ For Mayor: Dennis Hooks - unopposed

▪ For Council Member Place 3:

Jim Merritt

Ken Davis (filed certificate of withdrawal on 3/3/15)

Waymon Hamilton (filed certificate of withdrawal on 3/3/15)

Reed Wainwright

Kevin Cleveland (filed certificate of withdrawal on 3/4/15)

Dale Fleeger

Wade Calhoun

▪ For Council Member Place 4

Craig Swancy

Tom Holman