Weatherford News

WC cancels election while WISD, Aledo look to fill seats

A familiar face will be rejoining the Weatherford College Board of Trustees but because there are no contested races, it won’t take an election to make it official.

Elaine Carter, who previously served on the board from 2009-2013, will take over Place 5 after incumbent Betty Jo Graber did not file for re-election.

Also up for renewal were Place 3 and Place 4 and incumbents Dr. Trev Dixon and Joel Watson, respectively, both filed but had no challengers. Each will be serving their second term, the first which began in 2009.

Weatherford ISD

In addition to a bond election broken out into three propositions, voters will decide on two seats on the board.

For Place 1, longtime member and current president Paul Paschall did not file for re-election and newcomers Amy Bonnett and Brian Catlin are vying for the spot.

In Place 2, incumbent Jeff Geyer is being challenged by Ben Schoonover.

Aledo ISD

The Aledo School Board features incumbent Jay Stringer running unopposed for re-election in Place 1. However, Places 2 and 3 have plenty of competition.

Place 2 incumbent Johnny Campbell did not file for re-election. Vying for his soon-to-be-open seat are Jennifer Loftin, Hans Dube and Cindi Neverdousky.

Place 3 incumbent Dr. David Tillman is seeking re-election. He will be challenged by David Denman and Vernon Anderson.