Weatherford Living

Aledo photography students win 10 awards

Judging for the 2014 Association of Texas Photography Instructors Fall Contest took place on Nov. 15.

The six Judges - Rex Curry, Danny Hurley, Lindsey Miller, Tadd Myers, Clif Palmberg and Mike Taylor - spent six hours judging more than 6,500 entries from 81 schools. The entries came from schools across Texas, plus California, Kansas, New York and Oklahoma.

Aledo photography teacher Sandra Sawyer said four of Aledo students got to watch the judging.

“It was a great show and I am so proud of our creative students,” she said.

Following are award winners:

Beginning- Fashion

Honorable Mention: Madison Gostkowski for “OMRW.”

Beginning- Informal-Environmental Portrait

First Honorable Mention: Zephyr Gunteh for “Chutzpah.”

Honorable Mention: Zephyr Gunter for “Cerise.”

Beginning- Nature

Honorable Mention: Madison Gostkowski for “Hidden Creek.”

Beginning- Still Life

Honorable Mention: Lexi Bloomfield for “Candles in the Sunset.”

Beginning- Student Life

First Place: Alyssa Lockhart for “Alyssa Lockhart student life2.”

Honorable Mention: Emma James for “Bubbles.”

Honorable Mention: Kailee Taylor for “Sunset Lovin'”

Beginning- Travel

Honorable Mention: Samantha Gift for “Little Runaway.”

Beginning- Time Exposure

Second Place: Austin Caldwell for “Median.”