Northeast Tarrant

Candidate filing closes for local elections

The lineups are set for local municipal and school district elections.

Here’s a look at who will be on the ballot for the upcoming races in the May 10 election.


Incumbent Stan Hall will run against Chris Putnam for the City Council Place 3.

Place 4 incumbent Jody Short will run unopposed.


Two Grapevine incumbents’ positions expire this year: Chris Coy in Place 5 and Roy Stewart in Place 6. Coy filed for re-election, and four newcomers are seeking to replace Stewart in Place 6. Seeking the Place 6 post are Marc Blum, Duff O’Dell, LuAnn Chapman Gatts and Deverick P. Jordan.

Coy joined the Grapevine City Council in 2008.


Incumbent Martin Schelling is running to keep his Place 1 seat against Shahid Shafi. The two opposed one another in the 2011 election.

Former mayor pro tems Gary Fawks and Virginia Muzyka are running for deputy mayor pro tem Pamela Muller’s Place 6 seat. Muller cannot apply because she met the city’s term limit of two consecutive terms.

Carroll ISD

With three open spots and only three candidates, Carroll ISD may cancel its Board of Trustee elections.

Incumbent Craig Rothmeier plans to hold his Place 1 seat, Bradley Taylor filed for Place 2 and Sheri Mills in Place 3.

District spokeswoman Julie Thannum said the Board has the option to cancel the election, which it has done in the past. She added in most instances, the Board will vote to cancel the election and certify the unopposed candidates “elected,” at the next scheduled board meeting.

She said that those who are elected without an election cannot assume their duties until after the official election day in mid-May.

Grapevine-Colleyville ISD

Grapevine-Colleyville school district’s board of trustees has three seats up for election.

Jesse G. Rodriguez, incumbent, has filed for re-election in Place 5. Troy Greisen also filed for Place 5.

Leon Leal, incumbent and board vice president, has filed for re-election of Place 6.

Jorge Rodriguez, incumbent and board president, has filed for re-election of Place 7.

Mark Assaad has filed for Place 7.