Keller Citizen

Incumbents Bryan, Mizani win Keller Council races

Arman Mizani
Arman Mizani Submitted photo

The incumbents are sticking around in Keller, according to unofficial results from the Tarrant County Elections Office.

It was a tight race in Place 2, where challenger Bill Heydenburk led up until the final precinct votes were reported, when incumbent Armin Mizani moved ahead with 51.65 percent of the vote.

“I’m very humbled by the trust that the Keller citizens have shown in me and I;m looking forward to working hard on behalf of all 42,000 citizens,” Mizani said.

Incumbent Debbie Bryan received 52.4 percent of the vote for Place 1, coming out ahead of challenger Mitch Holmes.

“I am so honored that the citizens of Keller have elected me to represent them for three more years,” Bryan said. “I reamin committed to being a voice of the people and ensuring that Keller continues to be one of the best places to live in America.”

Coincidentally, Bryan and Mizani each received 1,695 votes.

Stephanie Setzer, who was campaigning in Place 1 before she suspended her campaign after the withdrawl deadline for personal reasons, still got 2.8 percent of the vote.

Bryan, was elected to Place 1 in 2013 and Holmes was on the Council eight years.

Mizani, who won a special election in December and served in the Place 2 seat since then, was challenged by Heydenburk, a retired airline pilot.

Many campaign questions and topics revolved around ethics and housing density.

Bryan and Heydenburk agreed that the city’s ethics policy, recently brought up by Mayor Mark Mathews, needed to be updated to be accurate before the Council signs it. Holmes and Mizani supported the policy, saying it should be signed before being updated.

On density, some candidates have brought up the recent Council decision on the Gean Properties, which Bryan and Heydenburk supported while Holmes and Mizani disagreed.

The winners will be sworn in May 19 at the next City Council meeting.